We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a nice hotel”
Review of Adair Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adair Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I like this hotel. It's central recently refurbished, will looked after clean and the rooms are comfy, well equipped and quiet.
Just a nice pleasant place with good food.
I've stayed here twice now and happy with both stays.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancashirewillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 339 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Spent Sat/Sun nights in the Hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the food was of a very high standard and the room was very clean and comfortable.
We stayed in the Hotel with another couple and like ourselves they enjoyed the entertainment on Saturday night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Called in here to see if they could accommodate my dietry needs, just for an evening meal.

Receptionist Mabel superb, Restaurant superb what a fabulous mesal they provided for me and my husband.

Service first class and decorations and cleanliness 10/10 Would return and hopefully stay here. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel ia very clean and beautifully decorated on all floors. The staff were very polite but a little slow to check us in. The room was very clean comfortable modern. The bath was too small. More for a child. Breakfast was good accept for the tinned fruit and the waitress setting down the cooked breakfast before we had finished the cereal. A lovely underrated hotel but could have a little more attentional to detail with the service. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I went here today for Afternoon Tea. What was supposed to be a lovely treat turned in to a very disappointing experience. The hotel itself is beautiful inside and the waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately that's were the good experience stopped. We were quickly shown to our seats and our tea was brought to us straight away. Unfortunately we then had to wait twenty minutes before we actually received the food to go along with it. When it did arrive we were so disappointed. It certainly wasn't what they advertise. They state on the menu a ' selection of pastries' which is in fact a few rice crispy buns & a couple of choc chip cookies (which looked suspiciously out of a packet). When we were getting ready to leave after paying £17.00 a member of staff asked if everything was ok? When we told her we were really disappointed and explained why she went to get the manageress. As soon as the manageress appeared it was clear she wasn't happy about our complaint before she even spoke to us. When we explained that we were unhappy that it states on the menu 'selection of pastries' and what we actually received was a few traybakes and a couple of cookies. She was very dismissive and told us these were in fact pastries?? Really?? It was clear our complaint was falling on deaf ears so we just left. I certainly would not recommend afternoon tea in this establishment to anyone! Especially if it was for a special occasion. I will not be back!!!! Very poor : (

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank Bubblegums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

returning from north coast we decided to have an extra night. hotel handy to town and railway station. hotel was comfortable but seemed a bit dated and in need of a facelift. staff friendly aithough felt a bit rushed at breakfast with waitress wishing to take order immediately we were seated.
room comfortable although there was a stained pillow in wardrobe. room overlooked a roof giving no view whatsoever. first time i have encountered a room with no view and little natural light.

Room Tip: do not select a rear room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangorBeertaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

From the moment I rang requesing a quieter room for my elderly mum - to arriving, and then staying for two nights - I have nothing but praise for all the staff - from front of house, housekeepingg staff , restaurant staff and the big one a Johnny Cash tribute night - will certainly be back - keep up the 5 star service

Room Tip: room 120 was large and at back of hotel - not a great view but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
1.3 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
954 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
337 reviews
8.7 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#2 of 3 in Antrim
385 reviews
17.1 mi away
Corrs Corner Hotel
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adair Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adair Arms Hotel

Address: 1-7 Ballymoney Road, Ballymena BT43 5BS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Price Range: $117 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adair Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1846, the Adair Arms Hotel has proudly stood in the centre of the popular and busy town of Ballymena. The hotel was originally built by Sir Robert Adair and was designed by Sir Charles Lanyon, who was responsible for many well known buildings in Northern Ireland, such as the prestigious Queen’s University in Belfast. Illuminating the character of yesterday and capturing the ambiance of today, the Adair Arms Hotel offers 41 luxurious bedrooms, 6 conference and banqueting suites, a coffee bar, public bar and serves an extensive grill menu all day everyday in the Adair Grill. Guests can avail of free carparking, unlimited free Wifi access and enjoy live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday Night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Adair Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adair Arms Hotel Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing