We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”
Review of Adair Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adair Arms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Dated and cold room.
No hot water.
Staff were offhand and dismissive ...when I asked about hot water I was questioned on why I needed it !!!
Breakfast was excellent - just a pity that the rest of the stay was so appalling.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gcmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    93
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
66
97
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundonald, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed in Adair arms after another hotel had double booked our room. Staff very helpful and friendly, went the extra mile by swapping our twin room for a double with no hassel. Room was nicely decorated and comfy. Our ensuite had full disabled access also complete with LAS with shower seat and rails for anyone this would be beneficial to. Good breakfast, with friendly staff willing to help. Definately recommend hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in the area. I'd called up to reserve the room about a month or so beforehand, and was given a double room for 1 night and as I was staying elsewhere on the second night, the helpful lady said we could keep the same room but only be charged for single occupancy for my partner. We arrived very early and they kept the bags for us in a room behind reception until check in.

Room spacious and very clean, fantastic bathroom and all kitted out to a high standard. Buffet style breakfast with hot and cold options, plenty of fruit and cereals and served until 11 on the Sunday! The bar area was small but comfortable with very helpful staff who orientated us to the area and suggested things to do and see.

The one small snag we had was when my partner came to check out, they tried to charge him for double occupancy on the Sunday instead of single (as agreed at time of booking) and there was also an issue with trying to pay by card for some reason. Other than that we had a lovely stay at the hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The food is brilliant, I really enjoyed eating in this place I have been lots of times i have never had a compliant

Would return a million more times
Rosleen is the greatest and very helpful

Room Tip: speak to Roseleen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We found this great Hotel by accident as we got a little lost on our driving holiday. We arrived late afternoon and the receptionist greeted us with a friendly welcoming smile. She advised that she had a room available and that the Hotel was undergoing renovation. We accepted the room which was spacious and very clean and above expectation. The bed was unbelievably comfortable one of the best on our triip. We had dinner in the restaurant which was superb, excellent food at a great price and waiting staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was equally as good the next morning. This hotel is wonderful now and can only improve with the refurbishment. Next time our stay won't be by accident.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarence d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

From the outside the hotel looks very run down, but they are refurbishing many of the rooms and I clearly had a room that was refurbished. The room was great, but please note if you want to check out before 7:00am it is mpossible as the night porter doesn't have access to the computer and the rectilinear staff don't start until 7:00.

Room Tip: Make sure you have one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed for the first time at the Adair Arms Hotel on the 31st March, whilst the hotel was undergoing a huge refurbishment project i found the hotel to be excellent. The receptionist that checked in me in was very friendly and gave very acurate instructions as you how to get to the bedroom and restaurant. The bedroom i booked was a triple for two adults and one child. The bedroom consisted of a double and single bed with ample room. The room was very clean with a large flatscreen TV and tea and coffe making facilities. The bathroom was a perfect size with bath and overhead shower.

We had dinner in the restaurant, which was positioned in the function room whilst the refurbishment took place. Dinner was very tasty and the staff excellent. I had my 5 year old son with me and the staff were very pleasant with him. When the children are happy so are the parents.

I cant wait to see this hotel completed and will definatley stay again.

Thank you Adair Arms for making my stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regulartraveller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
2.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,921 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
789 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
347 reviews
8.7 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#1 of 3 in Antrim
361 reviews
16.8 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adair Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adair Arms Hotel

Property: Adair Arms Hotel
Address: 1-7 Ballymoney Road, Ballymena BT43 5BS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ballymena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adair Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1846, the Adair Arms Hotel has proudly stood in the centre of the popular and busy town of Ballymena. The hotel was originally built by Sir Robert Adair and was designed by Sir Charles Lanyon, who was responsible for many well known buildings in Northern Ireland, such as the prestigious Queen’s University in Belfast. Illuminating the character of yesterday and capturing the ambiance of today, the Adair Arms Hotel offers 41 luxurious bedrooms, 6 conference and banqueting suites, a coffee bar, public bar and serves an extensive grill menu all day everyday in the Adair Grill. Guests can avail of free carparking, unlimited free Wifi access and enjoy live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday Night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Adair Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adair Arms Hotel Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing