We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”
Review of Broughshane B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballymena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broughshane B & B
Ranked #7 of 15 Ballymena B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed with Jack for four days in September 2012 and it was superb. Great breakfasts with a great host. Good parking, excellent room and good facilities. The location is ideal to explore the Glens, Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge, Slemish, the Giants Causeway and the Antrim coast road. It is also ideal for exploring shopping in nearby Ballymena. You will not be disappointed if you chose to stay with Jack, he is a true gentleman and a superb host.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrolec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
14
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Had a very enjoyable week at Broughshane B & B. Jack Agnew is the perfect host who cooks a fantastic breakfast, his hospitality is second to none. The accommodation is clean and well situated for exploring the Antrim coast and glens. Particularly enjoyed chatting with Jack at breakfast. I hope to stay again next year. I highly recommend Jack's place.

Many Thanks Jack

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place isn't on the main tourist trails but Broughshane is a lovely little village and this B&B is pretty close to the heart of it. The bungalow has good off street parking and was very easy to find. Myself and a mate were made very welcome after a long day on two wheels. The rooms were a nice size, comfortable, and well kitted out. Breakfast was spot on.

I'm used to getting an interrogation from B&B owners but Jack, the owner, has struck the right balance of being friendly but not overpowering. That said, if you're into motorbikes make sure to spend some time taking to him.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColmDAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed with Jack in May whilst experiencing the NW200. A very friendly place, clean accommodation, good food, good crack. What more can you ask for. Will definitely call again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I stayed here for three weeks in September. I could not have wished for better accommodation. The room was spotless and very comfortable. It was en-suite with satellite tv and access to wireless internet. I also had the use of a fridge, microwave and tv room. However, best of all were the owner Jack and his delicious breakfasts. He pulled out all the stops to make me feel at home and I still miss the morning fry up! I will definitely be back to stay again (hopefully soon). I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: The Slemish room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhán B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacko11bb, Owner at Broughshane B & B, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Siobhan, thank you very much for your review of my accommodation. Hope to meet again soon, and if you are ever in Broughshane, please do not hesitate to call for a chat and a coffee.

Regards

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, , United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for just one night at the B&B, we were attending a function nearby. The B&B was well appointed, the ensuite room was spotlessly clean and spacious and Jack was a lovely host. The breakfast was delicious and hit the spot before we had to head home to Derry. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Broughshane of Ballymena.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights over Sept weekend - had an amazing time, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We took our dog Jackson and it wasn't a problem for him to stay; Jack was very welcoming and so was his little dog Penny. The rooms were lovely, very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts in the morning were such a treat and a great way to start the day, could get used to eating them ever morning! Jack was always very chatty in the morning and also very helpful with tip on places to visit. You can come and go as you please, which was ideal as we were away travelling most of the day, however it was nice to catch up with Jack when we got back he always asked about our day. The location is ideal for travelling around Northern Ireland, Broughshane is a lovely wee town. We will defnitely be back to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamG005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymena
3.3 mi away
Adair Arms Hotel
Adair Arms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ballymena
299 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
789 reviews
5.6 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Leighinmohr House Hotel
Leighinmohr House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ballymena
347 reviews
13.9 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quarrytown Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broughshane B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broughshane B & B

Property: Broughshane B & B
Address: 11 Knockan Road | Broughshane, Ballymena BT42 4JY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballymena
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ballymena
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Broughshane B & B Ballymena, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing