We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Garden's”
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Larne Co. Antrim N. Ireland
14
Reviewed May 13, 2006

In the summer of 2005 my husband and I stayed in this hotel for a week. We found the staff to be unhelpful in some aspects. Our room was very comfortable, the food was above average and the garden's absolutely excellent as we found it most relaxing, to walk round. There was so much colour and the aroma of the flowers especially the roses, they were exceptional. As we found the garden's this time around full of inspiration and delight this must be all down to the gardener who we never met but he must be the most valuble member of your staff, and is worth every star and more that the garden's recieved as we were informed by one of your female employee's. We only wish that we could of had him for his excellence in our garden back home. We hope to be returning ths summer, we would really like to meet the gardener this time around.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,418 - 1,424 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2006

I went for dinner here on the May Bank Holiday. As they were busy we were seated in the lounge/bar (turns out the restaurant was not busy!) The 2 bar staff did not approach us and ask us did we want a drink so I want and stood at the bar. I waited 5 minutes but was completely ignored by both staff, one of whom was too busy making cheap orange juice for the restaurant. I then sat down again and we waited another 20 minutes before being seated in the quarter full restaurant. Why the wait? and are the bar staff too busy or impolite to ask/serve us a drink? We were rather thirsty after a long drive up and down the Antrim coast! The food was nothing to write home about either. The lamb was like a school dinner and was full of fat, so we were disappointed and I really really hope the hotel does not treat tourists like this - as N.Ireland needs tourists!!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank IN_LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nottingham
111
Reviewed April 10, 2006

Quite stunning views over Ballygally beach, this hotel has the ideal situation. Some parts of the hotel seem quite dated, although this can help the atmospheric feel of the place, with the large open fire contributing to the overall effect. The bedrooms were clean and modern and our room looked out over the beach. It is in a small seaside village about 3 miles from the main town of Larne.
The staff are very professional, one in particular called Kieran who made us feel very welcome. I think he worked in the bar, although he went from helping us to our room with our luggage, changing a light bulb in our room, serving us in the restaurant and in the bar, and was keeping that huge open fire going all evening! Exceptional service all round!
We had a lovely sleep in the comfortable bed and woke up the next morning to an extensive buffet breakfast that kept us going most of the day! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2006

I travelled with 42 members of our over 50's group, and stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. There were no complaints what so ever and everyone enjoyed the food. We arived on Mothering Sunday, and even though they had been working hard all day with over 200 Special mothers day lunches, they catered for us just splendidly. The staff were very nice, some exeptionaly pleasant. They were mostly Irish but some very nice foreigners too. All the rooms were recently refurbished with large modern bathrooms with neutrogena toiletries, and a little yellow duck for the bath!! Huge beds with good quality linen. One negative is that they only have one room with a walk in shower, the rest are over the bath. The location was good for us as we planned to stay in Northern Ireland for the whole holiday. Everyone agreed they were fortunate to have such good weather when they were out and about. No one had expected the temperature to be so much higher than at home in Scotland and some members had to buy T shirts!The crossing from Troon to Larne made the journey much easier.
At both the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge and the Giants causeway the staff there said that we had been lucky enough to get the best weather of the year so far, and we were delighted that the bridge was 'open' to visitors. Many members were brave enough to cross the bridge which is suspended 100 ft above the sea and is 70ft. across.

The Ballygally Castle hotel has a resident ghost, who did not make herself know to anyone while they were there. The trips to Mount Stewart, Patterson's spade mill and the National Trust's Victorian 'Crown Bar', were very interesting. During our visit to Belfast city Hall, the lord Mayor of Belfast, Mr Wallace Browne took time to meet with us and accept a copy of our Northern Ireland holiday itinerary. The Lord Mayor's Chain is solid gold and weights one stone. There was one weather problem however, that did cause us to change our itinerary. Overnight rain on Monday caused flooding in the Marble Arch Caves, so we opted for a day trip to Dublin instead. Many members were delighted as they had never been in Dublin before and some took the opportunity to visit the Guinness Brewery. Some members managed to visit Balfast Cathedral and found it welcoming and were astounded at the beautiful mosaics and stained glass.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
london, uk
318
Reviewed April 2, 2006

I stayed in this beautiful hotel with my teenage daugher, elderly mother and my 2 sisters in the autumn. On arrival outside,the hotel appeared a little run down, as did the reception area; however, the rooms were lovely, clean and modern. The setting is exceptional with views over the bay, and a walk through the well-kept back gardens leads you to a small stream which runs out into the sea, so typical of the Antrim Glens' landscape with mountains, rivers and streams joining the sea, all very dramatic and breath-taking.
The staff at the hotel were really professional and charming people. The house-keeper gave us an impromptu tour of the hotel, showing us the majestic suites on offer with their kingsize beds and views of the bay or mountains. She also took up up to the haunted turret, which my teenage daughter was delighted to hear about the legends. The reception staff always had a smile and were also friendly, as were the staff in the restaurant where we enjoyed a hearty breakfast every morning before heading off. The bar, with the enourmous open fire burning, made an atmospheric welcoming area where we were able to enjoy a relaxed evening after spending the day touring to Glens. The location is ideally situated for driving holidays: Leaving the hotel go left following the Antrim coast road north to all the beautiful villages and landmarks, including Carrick-a-rede and the Giant's Causeway. Or turn right to head south into the lovely town of Larne, with the selection of shops and beautiful bakeries (where you can stock up with your Tatie & Soda bread before leaving) or head further south for a day's shopping in vibrant Belfast (whilst there the Stormont Great Park is well worth a visit!).
I hope to take my mum back to The Ballygally Hotel in June so we can spend some time on the beach which is right in front of the hotel and looked like it could be fun.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2006

Called today for lunch - hotel is very worn, looks run down and the furnishings in the foyer and bar are well past their best. £9 for a pannini bar snack - no way! They are advertising a buffet lunch for Mother's Day at £27.95 per person - are they for real?

Stayed: March 2006
17  Thank Al94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2005

We stayed here on a tour for a night and I wish we'd stayed longer! The beach was right across the street and had a beautiful view. There are lovely gardens in the back. I did pass on going into the old part of the castle - they said there was a ghost still hanging out there! I would love to go back and visit for a week!

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank marymcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
19.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,321 reviews
18 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
950 reviews
17.3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
554 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
4.3 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range: $130 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing