We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent... Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Comber
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent... Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel, staff, food and atmosphere were amazing.... Kids had a great time at the neighbouring Carnfunnock Park and the hotel was truly the icing on the cake.
A wonderful place overlooking the sea, kids could paddle their feet on the small sandy beach, and have fun in the beautiful hotel gardens between meal courses.
Staff were very attentive and did everything to make kids and adults feel at home and well and truly spoiled with first class service.
Special thanks to Sam, Victoria who made the kids lovely fruit cocktails, and kept them entertained.
Also, David and Kevin the fabulous head chefs.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyD257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    290
    132
    69
    48
See reviews for
301
582
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Fabulous seaside location, very beautiful gardens, faultless excellent breakfast of fresh, local, top-quality produce BUT the VERY best thing is the bed. It was like sleeping on a cloud and so wonderful that we are investigating how to purchase this for ourselves!
There is also an interesting ghost room to be inspected, and various histories and artefacts and information to take your attention, and all this 17th century castle part is oddly set alongside another area which has a very modern decor.
Despite the best breakfast, I thought the other food was a bit mediocre and could be tastier and more appealing.
The other thing that needs to be addressed is that if you come in on a ferry that lands you at the hotel before three (you cannot get your room before 3) and if it is a Sunday, there is only a Sunday buffet available, and you, in your cagoule and jeans, will be surrounded by locals in their Sunday best, which is all pretty uncomfortable. There needs to be a quiet corner where you can be served a simple bar meal, away from the big buffet thing.
Nice hotel though and near to the ferry and sat on the glorious Antrim coast.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgowgigi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Called in at the Ballygally castle hotel for the first in eight years, since my daughter got married their.What a shock I got the change in the place,to me it was always top class but now" wow" it as gone out of this world must have cost a fortune,but it still keep its charm,staff are always glad to see old friends,Jackie the waiter looked after us very well,we had a lovely pot of breakfast tea and buns that what they call cakes in Ireland,I never saw the first plate full, Jackie was there with a top up,the prices have gone up a bit but you have to pay for top class.I Took my grandauhter up to the ghost room in the old part I didn't tell her it was haunted she only got to the door and asked what in her papa that's what she calls me I tolled her it a ghost she wnt down a lot faster than she went up.You have to have a look it makes your hairs stand up.

Room Tip: If you can go when they don't have a wedding on get one of the bridle rooms they are top class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger20082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014


I just spent a wonderful two days at the wonderful Ballygally castle hotel

The sea view was astounding and very impressive, as were the bedrooms. However what I was most impressed with was the warm welcome and homely feeling that the staff portrayed.

Nothing was too much to ask of from the Manager Norma as she was very attentive and had time to engage with me.

One morning I was running late for breakfast and Jackie went out of his way to get us breakfast.

I would highly recommend the hotel for not only for the views, luxurious rooms and good food but also for the very warm welcome and extra touches that the staff brought to make me and my company feel that we were very important and valued customers to them.

I must visit this summer and receives a very high rating from me.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Donaghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stopped off for lunch as the location is lovely. The waiting staff were friendly but it couldn't compensate for the below average food and the very lengthy wait when the restaurant area was not busy. Overpriced and really poor food. Make us think again about booking a stay. Drive on by.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed for one night only at this very good hotel on our drive along the really excellent coastal road down to the Giant's Causeway. We had aTower room, which was a little smaller than the more modern rooms in the main hotel area, but well furnished, very clean and quite charming,with lovely view over the very well managed gardens.
It was a Bank Holiday w/e so the hotel was very busy and service everywhere was quite slow, particularly in the restaurant, with a long wait for Dinner, but never the less a good experience.
Excellent breakfast and generally very helpful and attentive staff.
Certainly recommend this hotel. - but perhaps best to avoid holiday weekends,

Room Tip: Tower rooms are fun but a little small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philatbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

First visit for a few years and really pressed at how the place has been extended. Had a great lunch in very pleasant surroundings and everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful. Hope to return for an overnight in the next few months. Well done Mr Hastings!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
19.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,761 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
752 reviews
17.3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
274 reviews
14.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
304 reviews
8.2 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing