We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short overnight stay with toddler”
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We did a one night stay here, driving up from Dublin we were spending the day between the Ulster Transport Museum and the Giant's Causeway. Didn't spend too long in the hotel and had booked it based on a good deal but we ended up being really pleasantly surprised. Had a lovely big room with separate couch area, which was great having a two year old in a cot with us. Staff were excellent and very helpful. We felt very welcome with a toddler too. The location, while a bit out of the way, is lovely. Spent a few hours the following day at a nearby fun park for kids which was brilliant - large play ground and little passenger train on tracks. Had a very nice afternoon tea before leaving. The hotel is not high end luxury but for a short break we had a really great time and i would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms at front of hotel are lovely. Kids fun park nearby worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rathern0tsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Part of Hasting Hotels which we were pleased with nestled across the street from the beach and with in walking distance to taaffe castle pub. Very friendly staff and we made a trip up to the ghost room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Enjoyed our one night stay. The lounge area was lovely to have a drink on a rainy day and the evening meal was lovely. The room was very comfortable although we had a few niggles with very creaky floors above and a lot of tv noise coming from a neighbouring room. Apart from that the hotel was a delight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazyButchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have been using the Ballygally for the last few years on business and normally for a number of nights at a time. The setting by the sea is fabulous whether its winter or summer, the hotel facilities including the rooms are immaculately clean and most are large and spacious but the thing that sets this hotel aside from all others I visit throughout Europe is the staff, polite but friendly, attentive but not over the top, knowledgeable, the list goes on and on. Keep it up.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 101 - 110 or 201 - 210
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding in May 2013.

We didn't spend much time in the room but it was well equipped with a lovely view of the gardens to the rear of the hotel. My boyfriend found the room a bit stuffy during the night but i like it warm so i didn't mind!

The food at the wedding was lovely, the atmosphere was fantastic and the service impeccable.

The cocktails were a happy surprise - the dacquiris were particularly good!

The breakfast the next morning was lovely, my only complaint would be that a wider selection of cereals would be good.

At over £100 a night i won't be rushing back but for a special occasion it would be a lovely getaway!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandamc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I spent an overnight stay at this idoliclly located hotel. The staff were very professional and offered a warm and happy welcome with outstanding service, where nothing was a problem. Food was delicious and well presented. The overnight stay was homely with peace and tranquil surroundings making for a peaceful nights sleep. A huge thanks to the whole team for a thoroughly enjoyable short trip. My wife has already notified friends of the great location and value for money and great Attention to detail. They are going to arrange their own short breaks.

Room Tip: Beautiful views over the front of the hotel out to the sea. Tranquil location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavyS156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I won a night at this lovely hotel as part of a raffle prize. I tried to book a Saturday but they were fully booked all through the summer which is a good sign. The hotel is part of the Hastings group and if I am brutally honest it's the forgotten cousin. However it only disappointed on a superficial level, it looked a bit tired. We had a lovely sea view room with the best bed in the world ever. We arrived and were privileged to watch the hotel host a local wedding which was beautiful. We had two seats in front of the fire and ordered a pint of Murphy's and a glass of wine to start our fab night away. Drinks were a bit pricey but again in the Hastings Group and that's what to expect. The restaurant was virtually empty so we had the full undivided attention of the very attentive hotel staff. I ordered a rib eye and oh my goodness it was the biggest steak ever. We over ordered on the sides which was a shame we couldn't finish the food was fabulous. We went back into the bar after our meal and had a few nigh caps and chatted with the wedding party. We had a great sleep and then up in the morning for a superb buffet breakfast, with all sorts to eat and very fine quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, to wake up to this fabulous view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
19.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,324 reviews
18 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
955 reviews
17.3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
8.2 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
554 reviews
4.3 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range: $133 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing