We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to get married” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place to get married”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We decided to have our wedding out in Bally Gally and couldn't have picked better. They couldn't have done more for us. It is very reasonably priced, got fantastic views, the food was incredible and the bedrooms are all luxury. The wedding coordinated was fabulous. Couldn't have sked for more and all the guests loved it, they thought it was well worth the travel from England.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    285
    132
    68
    48
See reviews for
295
571
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and i were really looking forward for our trip to Ballygally castle - we found it using a deal website and instantly grabbed the offer.

Unfortunately when we attempted to book our weekend away they have informed us that all the rooms have been taken for all Friday's and Saturdays until the end of the deal yet the website definitely has availability.

The staff were not helpful on the phone and implied that it was as much our fault for not picking a weekend further in advance. Without even staying at the hotel, we had a poor experience...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guy G,

I am sorry to hear that we have not been able to accommodate your requirements.

Please contact me directly at gm@bgc.hastingshotels.com and allow me the opportunity to see if we can resolve this matter.

Sincerely,

Stephen Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ballygalley Castle's sad ghost did not make an appearance but the very warm welcome Stephen Perry and his staff provided made our stay exceptionally pleasant. Comfortable rooms of a high standard, a fire in the pub, and rainbows every day also helped. I would highly recommend this hotel and a visit to the coast road's magnificent scenery, gorgeous even on misty, cold Spring days and blessed with rainbows. The service at the hotel was excellent, the location dramatic with the dim outline of Scotland on the horizon. The new Titanic museum in Belfast is extraordinary and the Giant's Causeway in the other direction offer rich entertainment before returning to a good meal either here or at the near-by pub.

Room Tip: Some visitors like staying in the old castle, but our rooms in the newer part facing the ocean I tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maymorning2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear maymorning2,

thank you for your kind words of praise. Indeed, thank you for taking the time and effort to share your thoughts, it is much appreciated by everyone in the team at Ballygally Castle.

We look forward to your return.

Until next time, best wishes.

Stephen and all at 'the Castle'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We found this to be a friendly hotel with very helpful staff and enjoyed a very pleasant stay. A great starting point for exploring the Glens of Antrim. A perfect choice for a quiet overnight getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the Sunday carvery at Ballygally Castle with my family and grand children a few weeks ago. Food great and staff excellent and very child friendly. Will definitely be back for another Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank glenarmmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear glenarmmary,

Thank you for choosing to return to 'the Castle'. Your kind words are of great encouragement. We strive to create memorable experiences for all of our guests and are delighted when we hear such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to 'the Castle'.

Sincerely

Stephen Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky and had a nice room with an ok view. Got a good deal for just one night with dinner included. Staff were attentive when they needed to be. Dinner disappointing. Little atmosphere. Like a school dinner hall. My husband had steak. Most of which was fat. The manager(I assume) appeared and suggested he had not enjoyed his meal. This was well dealt with and taken off the final bill, which was pleasing.
Wouldn't be in a hurry back. Just okay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mooshbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good points

Excellent view over water
Bed was very comfortable
Room was clean

Bad Points

Terrible Customer Service - receptionist practically hung up the phone on me after I phoned down to see if the ice we had ordered (45 minutes previously) was going to be long.
TV didn't work properly the first night of stay, when said to reception they said they didnt know..but for 250 pounds I expected a working tv.
Food was terrible, and charged an extra 25 pound for an all inclusive meal for sides and one drink.
No parking spaces available on the saturday!
The local (only) shop which opening times sad 9-9 was closed at 7...

As a young couple travelling we felt out of place and unwelcome in this hotel.
Felt it let down the hastings hotel name.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belfast344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear belfast344,

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of our operation. I would be delighted if you allowed us the opportunity to resolve your dissatisfaction. If you should feel so inclined, please contact me directly at gm@bgc.hastingshotels.com.

Yours faithfully,

Stephen Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing