We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a wonderful hotel staff the best you will ever find”
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a wonderful hotel staff the best you will ever find”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

just back from staying at the ballygally castle and once again had a great time ,staff are a great bunch norma made us so at home again she is a great member of staff to have .and i would think people go back just becuse they know she always has time to have a wee chat with you ,like on friday night a older man and woman were wondering how they were going to get home as the snow was so bad .but norma sat down and drew a map out for them.and they went to bed happy knowing they would get home.thats just one of the things the staff do for people that stay at ballygally castle
.i cant wait to go back and see all the staff as all are like real friends.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie195752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear katie195752,

thank you for your kind words. You may rest assured that your words of praise will be shared with the team members, in particular, Norma.

We realise that whilst we do indeed have a spectacular and unique setting and 17th century buildings, the staff are the key element in creating truly memorable experiences.

We all look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.

Regards
Stephen Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    295
    135
    71
    49
See reviews for
310
591
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

After a pleasant drive from Dublin through Belfast to Ballygally, we arrived the day after Christmas (Boxing Day) to the beautiful Irish North. Although rainy, the hotel was beautifully set just across the street from a slightly stormy sea. The staff was terrific, getting our room prepared quickly as we were a few hours early. The fire was crackling mid-afternoon, which made the cozy lobby and bar area all the more welcoming. Our room was spacious, and the comforter top of the line!! It was a bit cold, though, but we made ourselves at home. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast buffet was simple yet filling. The adjoining tower allowed for a few minutes of independent exploration to get a feel of the history of the castle. Overall, this was a beautiful hotel with a marvelous and very helpful staff, genuinely friendly, and really set the stage for the first day of our trip. I highly recommend this hotel, particularly to vacationing couples slated to tour Northern Ireland, retirees, and/or families with older children. It has a more mature feel that I enjoyed and highly recommend. I cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slee9161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P, General Manager at Ballygally Castle, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear slee9161,

It was a delight to have you both stay with us and we in turn enjoyed your company. I trust that you enjoyed the rest of your journeys on the Island of Ireland.

Thank you for your kind praise and we trust that upon your return, you will come and see us at 'the Castle'.

Regards and Best wishes from all at the hotel,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed for one night between Christmas and new year 2012, in the glenariff room which had the most fantastic shower room built into the tower of the main hotel. I found the atmosphere of the hotel combined with the overall friendliness of staff and levels of service to be second to none. The quality of food of the main a la carte menu was fantastic and the choice and quality of breakfast was superb. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to both family and friends alike and indeed fully intend to make a return visit in the very near future. Thanks to all at the Ballygally Castle for making this a truly memorable overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude0577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Last minute decision on the Sunday before Christmas for my daughter and I to treat ourselves to afternoon tea. What a lovely experience, in terms of food, surroundings and service. It was a dreary wet day outside but was so cosy and atmospheric inside, with a roaring fire and tree lights giving a lovely Christmas feel. There had been a wedding in the hotel but this was not at all intrusive to other guests in for a quiet drink or meal. The service was excellent. All staff were very attentive and pleasant. The afternoon tea itself would have been ample for 4 people let alone 2, but we managed!! We came away feeling much better for having spent a few hours in lovely surroundings, which is pretty much on our doorstep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footballmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limavady
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and enjoyed a great night away after all the hussel and bussel of Christmas .The staff were what you expect from an Hastings Hotel,EXCELLENT and always go the "extra mile" The room was spacious and very comfortable. Great short break

Room Tip: get a room with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimavadyBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went for a Sunday Carvery birthday celebration and have to say it was one of the best meals I have ever had.
I thought it would be just the average Carvery but I was so impressed.
After 2 choices of delicious soups and fresh bread the starter choice was amazing. Fresh mussels ,chicken tikka,pasta salads ,smoked salmon ,and so much more I can't remember.
The carvery was the usual lamb,chicken ,turkey,roast beef etc but it was all beautifully cooked and tasted so fresh.
The desserts were amazing from the chocolate fountain to every pudding imaginable.
The staff were more an attentive and nothing felt rushed.
The view of the sea and coast from the dining room just added to the perfection of the day.
I really couldn't rate it highly enough

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA.CO.ANTRIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently stayed for 1 night with our daughter whilst on a bus tour. The hotel was very quirky and had lots of personality. The room was clean and despite booking a double/single room we got a triple - all the beds seemed to have plastic sheets on them and were very uncomfortable. The view across the garden was delightful. We enjoyed a set menu dinner at the restaurant and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcittc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
19.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
18.0 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
17.3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Rosspark Hotel
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.3 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
8.2 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing