We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views and setting but over priced and nothing special”
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice views and setting but over priced and nothing special”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

It's ok but too expensive. Early breakfast option is very poor and staff are just ok. Room I got was nice and fresh and clean

Bar is soul less and rooms a bit noisey

I'd suggest try somewhere else first!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublinsunshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    308
    140
    74
    49
See reviews for
324
614
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A reasonable hotel.Dining room food good and service fine.There was no help with the luggage either at night or in the morning. Not too far from the ferry to travel .Food was fine in the dining room in the morning and at night

Room Tip: The view from the front rooms was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My sister-in-law booked us into the Garden Suite as a wedding present for the night after our wedding in August. It was, by far, the best wedding present ever! The hotel was immaculate, the staff friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in us both as a couple and as guests. The quality of food was next to none: the vegetarian options were varied and not ‘run of the mill’, I had the aubergine dish and it was the best vegetarian meal I have had since becoming vegetarian! My husband had the steak which, according to him, was absolutely fantastic. The food was well presented and tasted awesome! I also have soya milk, which they had at the hotel already and we did not have to request it in, as I have had to do with other hotels. Heather and Scott, and their boss, in the restaurant, were very very polite, friendly, approachable and couldn’t do enough to help us.

Breakfast was a feast!! Honestly, royalty do not feast as well as we did!

The only downside was the rain which prevented us from enjoying the gardens, guess we’ll just have to go back again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KungF00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A nice hotel if you are heading north to see the glens. It is a bit isolated but the restaurant was excellent, staff attentive. Rooms clean and quiet and nice amenities. Internet was not free though. I would stay here again and would recommend it. The rooms are a bit tight but nice with a clean bathroom. Overall 4 star in my books

Room Tip: Overlook the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigV36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hi there , booked hotel through hasting hotel head office in belfast for wedding in this hotel for sept had no problem doing this but when i arrived at hotel the receptative informed me my card had declined five times and i had to pay for all when leaving the hotel next day iwas never so embarrised so i complained to the duty manager when i got home nsend him three emails before the manager rang me back to say that if ever we are that area again to give him a ring and we would get a free meal my husband asked is that it and kindly told him he would never be in the hotel again. I think it was awful we were treated my a four star hasting hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A friend recommended The Ballygally Castle hotel and boy was i glad she did. This Hotel is full of hidden charms . The food was excellent , the staff were so friendly and the hotel was spotless..We booked a suite in the 16th century castle just underneath the Ghost Room .. The views and the sound of the waves laping against the shores will stay with me for a lifetime..This hotel is a peaceful haven from the busy stressful life we live but once you arrive you land in the enchanted world of Ballygally ... Nothing is a bother to the staff they are full of charm and stories about the local area... The only down side is leaving this wonderful welcoming friendly hotel behind .. I will be returning as soon as possible Excellent service by all staff thank you ..

Room Tip: Choose a room in the tower if you can but the views are brilliant from all over the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cait C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September. We had originally booked because we wanted a haunted experience. We didn't feel the place was haunted at all. No ghostly vibes. The location on the sea is beautiful and great for touring the Antrim Coast. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and for breakfast and everything was delicious with great service. When booking, we requested a room in the old castle section and were happy to have gotten the room we requested. Unfortunately the shower was clogged in our room. We asked if it could be fixed and we were immediately given another castle room with a shower in the turret! The room was quiet and since the town is so small (not much traffic), we were able to open the windows and listen to the sea as we slept. The highlight of our trip was listening to a music session in the Dungeon Room, recommended to us while eating dinner. For two hours on a Friday night, we listened to the beautiful, haunting voice of Joanna (who also works at the hotel). What a great memory she gave us. If only she had a CD we could have bought!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,995 reviews
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
842 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
520 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Rosspark Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ballymena
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Property: Ballygally Castle
Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing