We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Day. PERFECT! Thank you guys so much!! :)”
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We were married in the 1625 Room at Ballygally Castle Hotel on 5th March and had our reception in the hotel afterwards. What an amazing venue and what wonderful staff! We always dreamed of having three things at our wedding: a unique venue, a little bit of glamour, but most of all an intimate family feeling that allowed everyone to have fun and enjoy and feel an integral part of our special day. That's a pretty big ask in this day and age but for us the Ballygally ticked all those boxes and more. We had people from all over the world at our wedding and everyone remarked at the fantastic mix of stunning location and high class but friendly 'couldn't do enough for you' service. From our pre-wedding meal the evening before, through our ceremony, to our reception drinks, meal and after party we were priveleged to be looked after by the most amazing staff. At every turn the management team of the Ballygally were at our shoulder facilitating and guiding us and our guests through our big day. I'm not usually a 'gusher' and I would admit that we are pretty easy-going but my wife and I are well educated and well travelled people who also know what real quality and class are, and this is where the Ballygally really shines. It's not about being 'uppety' or 'fancy shmancy', it's about having complete confidence that the venue and staff will provide exactly what you request of them in an encouraging, efficient, friendly and emotionally intelligent manner - what you might call 'old style' good service, and the sense that they actually cared personally about us having the best time possible. This for us will always be our memory of the Ballygally. Thanks so much to the General Manager Norman, his other managers Paul and Norma and all the reception and waiting staff at our wonderful wedding venue. Our hope is that other people will read this review and that it will encourage them to give you guys the opportunity to do for them what you did for us. If they work with and trust you as we did, they won't regret it and will have the wedding of their dreams.
Looking forward to seeing you all soon!
Grant & Marcella Smyth.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whodareswins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2011

Stayed in Ballygally Castle with my husband & 1 year old. The food was not great at all! I got a hair in my dinner and ordered a bowl of pasta for my 1 year old which was very salty. Breakfast was even worse, I have never ever not eaten a cooked breakfast in a hotel except for here. Cheap sausages, beans, frozen - sorry defrosted pastries....not something to be proud of!
But the worst of all was the unbearable heat of the room. In the middle of a chilly february we all suffered from no sleep and heat exhaustion. We reported it to reception, it was no better the 2nd night and we ended up checking out early and not staying a third night!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_oneill_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Stayed here overnight in summer of 2010 on a bus tour. I found the hotel extremely charming, great rooms, comfortable beds and good front desk staff. Our breakfast buffet was yummy and the extensive gardens in back of the hotel were a delight. Dinner was pricey but didn't find it empty as said in other reviews. Strolling along the beachfront across the road provided a welcome break from a day on the road. Others on the tour all expressed that they enjoyed their stay as well. Kids would find the climb up to the "ghost room" a welcome distraction. Would highly recommend for an overnight stay...not really enough to do for more than that unless you really want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagspacked55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

stayed in the ballygally castle sun13th for valentines day booked an exceutive room for £128 a night which included breakfast. Arriving in the room we realised it had inter-connecting doors that were not locked and the peole in next doors room arrived in our room!!! for an exceutive room it was very average.very thin walls could hear the tv next door footsteps. small in size not worth the money. dinner in the restaurant was very impressive but again food and drinks are quite expensive! breakfast wasnt great either.much prefer the hastings slieve donard hotel and it is better value for money. beautiful surroundings and great views from the room but will not be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zobo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

reception staff friendly, bar lounge staff should learn from them how to deal with the paying customer, bar staff not too quick in cleaning up used dishes, glasses away, the duty manager came along and cleared things away, its like one wont do more than the other. disabled access room - the ensuite was dirty the shower was not inviting. the bedroom needed a good dusting and the room very basic. room service each morning for breakfast, the food was lovely and the tray well presented - jams sauces etc. the bar food quite expenseive for what you got, £10.00 for clubsandwich and fries, drinks were hotel prices. the hotel was quiet as there were no children running around, that was nice. from my room you could always smell when the kitchen was in use, the room was too hot, we turned off the radiators. i would return but would hope the bedrooms where re-vamped. if you want quietness you will get it here!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anncairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Hi, spent a one night break in this hotel, just for the fun of it. The plan was guiness gin and food - Most bases were covered ok, and I would return.

The big draw for me was the room, we upgraded to an executive room, which was great. Downside was it looked out onto the roof at the back, and was too close to the kitchen extraction - you could smell the steaks in the evening, and the bacon the following morning.

Breakfast was grand, and I would look forward to it again. Dinner was fairly normal. The restaurant goo dbe improved simply by adding rugs or carpet - it is just too empty!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckinhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I chose Ballygally to get married in in December, and so all my family and friends stayed there too. My husband and I stayed in the Garden Suite, great big room, lovely view and lovely and quiet. The staff could not have been more attentive to us to our guests, and went to every length to ensure vegetarians and late additional guests got fed to their requirements. The venue is almost remote and very romantic at this time of year, with snowy gardens and log fires. Will def go back again either to eat or stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackpanther20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
19.4 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,476 reviews
18 mi away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
1,006 reviews
17.3 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
8.2 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
564 reviews
4.3 mi away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range: $140 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing