We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halfway House Hotel

Halfway House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Narberth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely location and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a good place to have a decent meal at any time of the year. There is a fair choice on the menu, though the vegetarian section is very basic. There is usually a lively atmosphere and the service is polite and efficient. However, we found the price of soft drinks very high.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Welshwhinberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    17
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service, poor food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really any restaurant that serves tinned carrots should only get a '1' but the starters were actually quite nice, if only we'd left after that. The menu is basic pub food so you'd think you should be safe enough, my chicken was as dry as the Sahara &. I've already mentioned the tinned veg. My husband had a burger which was too salty & he couldn't finish it. Pretty pricey for standard of food.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lap06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Family meal for Easter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Friendly atmosphere, and relaxing surroundings. Good service and good food. Staff helpful and nothing is a problem. Would highly recommend.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Been here before”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

It has a fabulous view of the sea and the food is very good, the bar is well-placed for the thirsty traveller along the beautiful coast road.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Is Abysmal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Lunch was dreadful. All appearances seemed to suggest that it was cooked by a year 8 Home Economics student.
The evidence from what was presented to us was that most of the food had been pre-cooked and given the microwave treatment. The incredibly short time from ordering to serving supported this. Some of the food was lukewarm. None of it was inedible but not an experience we will repeat. It all reminded us of the school lunch treatment.
It is not super expensive but it is not bargain basement either.
We may have visited on a bad day or with a stand in cook.
I certainly hope so for anyone else who stops off for some food.
Service at table was good.
Pleasant open fire.
But oh dear the food!
I hope they can get their act together in the food department because the location is superb.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halfway House Hotel also viewed

Cairncastle, County Antrim
Ballygally, County Antrim
 
Larne, County Antrim
Larne, County Antrim
 

Been to Halfway House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing