We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halfway House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Ballygally B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I were at the Dalriada Festival yesterday (Sunday 13 July - a great day out for the family and well worth going to) and we had booked into the Halfway House last night. The staff were all friendly and efficient, our room was very comfortable and with a lovely sea view. The hotel is spotlessly clean and it's just a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay. We had a meal in the Hotel last night, and again everything from the service to the food was excellent. We then finished off the night with a glass of wine in the conservatory part of Reception and what a view! The beds were comfortable with lovely white linen and we slept soundly. This morning the breakfast was very good as well. A choice of orange juice, grapefruit segments, cereal, and help yourself to the tastiest bacon I've seen in a long time, sausages, scrambled egg, tomatoes and mushrooms. Tea and coffee and toast as well. We'd have no hesitation in recommending the Halfway House to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely sea view
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sarahmarylucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Halfway House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stopped for a meal on a busy Friday night. The bar was busy but we were quickly shown to our table and given menus. A very good choice of food at reasonable prices. Our food arrived quickly and it was perfect. The staff are friendly and efficient, Dave Boy is attentive and welcoming. We have eaten here over the years and have always had an enjoyable meal and, of course, the location is second to none! Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

An amazing choice of food, lovely surroundings, friendly staff and amazing views over the Irish Sea - who could ask for more????

We booked in to the Halfway House Hotel on Saturday night (it was a toss up between here and the Ballygalley Castle Hotel). So pleased we choose here. Highly recommended and we will be back!!

Elaine and Terry

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

we called here totally "on spec" on a fine sunny Easter Monday round 5:00 p.m. I was a bit dubious whan I saw that the car-park was full and the place was busy. My fears were allayed as we were shown almost immediately to a table, drinks ordered & delivered quickly and food orders taken without delay. The 4 of us had different dishes and looked delicious. My curry was just right. In order to facilitate a large party we were asked if we would mind moving to the sun lounge for our dessets & coffees. This was not a problem as we were able to relax with a fantastic sea view. While the restaurant was extremely busy there were clearly enough staff to cope and there was no hint of being rushed - a really "gentle" experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very friendly staff who booked us in.
Rooms were dated and in need of decoration and up grade. The toilet water ran through the night and the television did not work.
However the hotel was very clean throughout.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have visited the hotel for meals on a number of occasions and on each one the welcome was friendly, the service was first class and the food as excellent. A wide choice of food is available and catering for a wide range of tastes. Some very tasty dishes! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernIrelandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just went in for a couple of pints and couldn't have been met with a better welcome. We didn't stay in the hotel but hospitality from Dave and his patrons was fantastic. Definitely worth popping into if you're on the Antrim coast

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mr u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
0.9 mi away
Ballygally Castle
Ballygally Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballygally
1,381 reviews
7.3 mi away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
539 reviews
13.8 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lynden Heights
Lynden Heights
#3 of 6 in Ballygally
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
BallyCairn House
BallyCairn House
#2 of 6 in Ballygally
24 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cairnview Bed and Breakfast
Cairnview Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 6 in Ballygally
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Hotel

Address: 352 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2RA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ballygally
Price Range: $101 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halfway House Hotel is a family run hotel, situated on the world famous Causeway Coast/Antrim Coast and Glens. It can be described as the Gateway to the Glens and Causeway Coast because of the location. From the front of the hotel you can see that it is situated in a picturesque seaside village. On clear days, if you look across the sea you will be able to see the mountains of Scotland. Within the hotel there is also a large lounge area (Maidens Lounge) where food and drink are served daily. The menu has a wide variety of food available – from seafood to steaks and a great selection of sweets. Again this area has lovely views over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Halfway House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halfway House Hotel Ballygally, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing