We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal at Lazaats Teatime”

Lazaat Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Cottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: After 12 years, the team behind Lazaat are working towards a new and rebranded restaurant. With new décor, a new menu and a new feel, exciting times are upon us. At the heart of Lazaat is their charcoal and wood burning grill menu. The talented and innovative chefs use lump wood and sustainable wood from the English countryside to cook a range of prime, locally sourced meats. This cooking method is natural, with no additives, and imparts the most amazing flavour and aromas to the food. Loyal regulars wanted Lazaat to retain some of their popular signature Persian dishes, alongside the grill. The result is a classic, second-to-none menu that compliments the use of the unique charcoal and clay oven. The restaurant is located just a five-minute drive from Cottingham centre, and is undoubtedly worth the twenty minute trip from nearby Hull, whether it be for a special occasion, a family outing, or just an indulgent bite to eat after work. Here are the Lazaat Restaurant opening times which show the range of menus available at our Cottingham Restaurant. Breakfast Continental Breakfast Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:00am Full Breakfast Saturday - Sunday: 8.00am - 10.00am Lunch 2 Course Buffet Lunch Monday - Friday 12.00pm - 2.30pm Sunday Best & Buffet 12.00pm - 3.00pm Dinner Evening Menu Monday, Wednesday - Sunday 6.00pm - 9.00pm Curry Night Tuesday 6.00pm - 9.00pm
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just returned from a mid week tea time meal at lazaats. We last visited approximately 2 years ago when we heard they were to be changing the menu, recently spoke to a friend who told us they had visited and it was back to spicy 'currys' etc. Smashing food and great attentive service even tho the staff were getting ready for the evening bookings they still waited on our table often checking all was ok. Cant find any faults.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robhullfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazaat_Management, Manager at Lazaat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Hello Robhullfury,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Lazaat experience. We value our guest’s feedback, and following feedback regarding our menu change 2 years ago we decided to return to a new and improved version of our historic menu.

We are excited to tell you that we are having a revamp of our restaurant which should be completed by the end of May & very much based on our Asian theme.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Helen Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 200 of 237 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

My Wife & I have just returned from a one night stay at the Lazaat. If you want to book somewhere thats a little different & enjoy well presented spicy food this is well worth considering. From booking the room by phone to checking out we found the Hotel staff friendly & helpful. The room was spacious & it was a little suprising there was a lack of storage for clothes. The tea making facilties were very welcome. The bathroom was larger than expected with an excellent shower. We had the Lazaat breakfast which we enjoyed, however there is a buffet option however we found not much choice in cereal as only All Bran on display perhaps if we had asked there may have been more cereal choice. But overall we really enjoyed our Lazatt experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SHAKENBUTNOTSTIRRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazaat_Management, Manager at Lazaat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Hello ShakenButNotStirred,

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at Lazaat.

As you have stated we have a unique and quirky establishment and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the authenticity of our Hotel and Restaurant.

We have taken your thoughts and comments on board and are pleased to tell you that we are intending on improving the bedroom & breakfast standards in the upcoming months.

We would like to thank you once again for your kind words.

Kind regards,

Helen Butler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Loveley veggie curry good location. always enjoy the food when I have been wish I used it more often.

Thank Tracy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazaat_Management, Manager at Lazaat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2012

Hello Tracy M,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your Buffet Lunch and your meeting at our Hotel.

We find out lunch time buffet to be very popular with our guests and we are working hard to improve the range and style of food further - we have some very exciting plans for our restaurant and work should be completed by the end of June!

Thank you again for your feedback.

Jonathon Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Microwave food with home cooked prices! Had Christmas meal on a group booking, sent 3/6 meals back as such poor quality and barely warm. Staff weren't apologetic. Never again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simpkinmehmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazaat_Management, Manager at Lazaat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Thank you for your review.

I am disappointed by your comments. It is regrettable you haven’t expressed them earlier so we could have made a thorough investigation on the operational service on the day you visited but as it is 4 months later this isn’t possible.

We provide ourselves on quality food and assure you all is cooked fresh on the premises daily but we sincerely respect your views.

Kind Regards

Jonathon Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lazaat is a really attractive restaurant. The toilets are plentiful and well done-if a little dark.The breakfast is good but apart from that , on several occasions, I have found the food to be mediocre and the service poor though staff are polite. On a Friday evening,I had a tea time meal with my sister; the restaurant was almost deserted but we still had to wait for everything.The food was just average and when there was no appropriate pud. we asked about fruit. We came up with ideas and eventually were given two oranges-no presentation or accompaniments. In fact the orange was one of the most flovoursome I've ever had. It would take very little to raise standards here since the food is not usually poor rather it is lack lustre. Speed and enthusiasm from staff would make eating here a much more rewarding experience.

3  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lazaat_Management, Manager at Lazaat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Thank you for your review.

It is disappointing you have had a rather mixed experience at our hotel & restaurant. However your points are very constructive and give us the opportunity to try & improve on our service delivery.

This is something we have done a lot of work on recently and will continue to do so in the following months as we refurbish & redesign our restaurant.

Kind Regards,

Jonathon Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazaat Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Skidby, East Riding of Yorkshire
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Skidby, East Riding of Yorkshire
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Cottingham, East Riding of Yorkshire
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Lazaat Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing