We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A lovely short stay and the location was great for us"”

Newholme Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cottingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newholme Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Cottingham B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
411 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“"A lovely short stay and the location was great for us"”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay at The Newholme mainly because we were visiting our son who is at Uni in Hull and staying at Needler halls in Cottingham . We also wanted to experience staying in or near to the village rather than in the city centre. This meant that we had a short 10 min walk to the village where we could meet up with son , go to the village pubs and little restaurants in the eve and the shops in the day etc.
The owners of the B and B , Lorraine and Ian were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The room (we had the family room) was lovely, the bathroom quite modern and the breakfast was delicious !.
It felt like a little home from home and I'm sure we will be staying again sometime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank shalovesny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
12
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great hotel, lovely rooms and wonderful breakfast. Owners very obliging. Thankyou for a lovely stay.Room was spotless and shower to die for. Ideal location for Hull city centre, just far enough out to be quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithlilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were visiting family in Cottingham and stayed three nights. Our hosts Lorraine and Ian were welcoming and very easy company. We stayed in a room at the back on the ground floor. The room was clean, comfortable and easy access to the back garden. Lorraine served up a hearty breakfast each morning. We could park right in front or just across the road in a quiet street. Thank you Lorraine and Ian for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sssmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Newholme Guest house on Saturday 28th after dropping our son off at Hull university . I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and can honestly say this Guest house lives upto its recommendations. We stayed in room 4 which was lovely and clean , nice and fresh and beds very comfortable . The owners of the guest house are lovely !!! Friendly but without being on top of you . The breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble !! We can honestly say we will be visiting again !!!!!! THANK YOU X

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Just had several days here. The rooms were super, spacious and absolutely spotless. All the facilities were excellent and the breakfast was top notch. The owners were delightful, cheerful and helpful. They have created a great atmosphere, we felt very comfortable coming and going and felt very welcome. It was very good value for money also. We will definitely be back and can wholeheartedly reccomend this lovely B and B

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Newholme and I hope it won't be the last. For me, staying in accomodation alone is not enjoyable but at the Newholme I felt safe and relaxed. At the end of a long day it was a real pleasure to come back to the calm, comfort of my spotlessly clean room and comfortable bed. I can honestly say I have had three of the best night's sleep of my life in the Newholme and all with the prospect of a carefully prepared, delicious breakfast to set you up for the next day. The bathroom was shared and was of the same high standard as everything else - just perfect. On top of all this Lorraine and Ian are welcoming, friendly and pleasant - nothing is too much trouble. Their quiet friendliness is a real pleasure to experience and leaves you with an wonderful relaxed feeling and all of this at a very competitive rate. I have just unpacked my bag and my clothes still smell of the house, a smell that you notice as soon as you walk in (a mixture of clean sheets and soap!)

The Newholme is a beautiful old house with loads of character. The staircase is really pretty with a huge stained glass window that looks on to the big back garden surrounded with old woodland trees. The rooms have very high ceilings wihich also gives a sense of space even to the cosy singles. Literally next to the house is the little old fashioned railway station that can take you into Hull city centre in 6 minutes! You can also take a train in the opposite direction to the coast and have the prospect of being back on your doorstep after a long day with only a two minute walk down the leafy station path to your front door! Cottingham village is just a short stroll away with its restaurants, pubs and typical tea rooms, good shopping and a weekly market.

I would recommend this place to anyone - families, couples or people travelling alone. It is a lovely little oasis of comfort and peace and quiet. Thank you Lorraine and Ian - hope to see you again soon.
Noreen from Spain

Room Tip: I am a very light sleeper and my room was at the front of the house on a busy main road with the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed at The Newholme Guest House, on several occasions whilst visiting our daughter who was studying at Hull University. The guest house is spotlessly clean, the rooms are the rooms large and spacious and there is a Communal sitting room. The hosts (Lorraine and Ian) are always very friendly, and happy to help with any query or information of places in the area to visit..

"Breakfasts" I can only echo what has previously been said,
The Breakfasts are Fantactic and really set you up for a busy day.

There is a nice pub and railway station just a few minutes walk away, and it is within an easy walk of Cottingham Village Centre, where there are lots of places to eat and drink!

Newholme Guest House is ideal for visiting Hull University, and is very close to both Needler Hall and The Lawns.

Our thanks to Ian and Lorraine, and hope to be visiting again soon.
Mark, Jenny and family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morrish1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottingham
2.3 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
683 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
3.5 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
575 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newholme Guest House

Property: Newholme Guest House
Address: 47 Thwaite Street, Cottingham HU16 4QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Cottingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cottingham
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Newholme Guest House Hotel Cottingham
Newholme Guest House Cottingham, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing