We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious weekend to remember.”
Review of Lazaat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lazaat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I were invited to attend a wedding of our freinds son to his fiancee at the Lazaat hotel (Cottingham), although we had never been before, we decided to book a room for the weekend so that we could relax beforehand and would not have to travel after the reception.As soon as we walked into the reception area to book in we were amazed at how fantastic the reception area looked and was greated with a very freindly smile from an equally freindly receptionist who was very professional and helpful, our book in was very easy and before we knew it we were in our room,amazed again,we were stunned at the fantastic decor and size of the room,it was absolutely spotlessly clean and smelled gorgeous,there was a walk in dressing area with plenty of storage room a safe,well stocked fridge and tea/coffee facilities,back in the maim bedroom area was the biggest bed i've ever seen with plenty of pillows and cushions (a pet hate of mine is not having enough pillows), there was a coffee table infront of a large window which had on it a bowl of fresh fruit, my eyes immediately spotted a very large jaffa orange which I placed in the fridge and enjoyed later that day,also there was a large glass bottle of top quality spring water and the essencial phone, there was a nice TV on the wall facing the end of the bed complete with freeveiw box and DVD player for which there was a good selection of films that could be picked up from reception, also there was a large table top fan in the room which was a god send as the weather was so hot during our stay, the dressing table was a large size with large mirror for the ladies and also there was a full lenth mirror that ladies find essencial when dressing for an occassion, the room was illuminated with very tastefull mood lighting which added to the luxurious decor, upon opening our window we were greeted by the soft sound of flowing water from one of the hotels fountains which later on soothed us to sleep in the giant comfortable bed, we had a wonderful veiw over the golf club next door. The en-suite was large,well fitted out and beautifully tiled,once again it was immaculately clean and top notch.
upon going down stairs and into the bar and dinning area we were once again greeted by smiling,freindly and such helpful staff whom all seemed to be able to make you feel special,the fantastic decor carried on right through the whole place, there was a good menu catering for all tastes and the food was excellent (our compliments to the chef),one word about the breakfast :-this is one thing i can usually pick faults with at hotels because of the quality of ingredients,but this time I could not fault anything, everything used was top quality and I really enjoyed demolishing my full English (my wife Jo' could not manage all hers as the plate was very large) preceded by fresh fruit salad and yogourt with fresh orange juice and followed by toast and preserves, finnished off with a very refreshing few cups of tea which we took into the garden area and sipped whilst relaxing,again listening to the soft sound of running water from another of the hotels fountains. After a while we took to the gardens for a slow stroll, these again were magnificent with arches ect', it was very relaxing and for those who enjoy longer walks there was a further woods and garden walk which I was told by one of the other guests was well worth the time to take in.
The Wedding itself was held in the hotels marque,to call it a marque does not do it justice, it was a massive structure of glass walls and doors with a wonderfull domed sectioned roof,inside was divided into seperate areas at the ends for a reception area and luxurious toilets, there were sumptious settees in the lounge area and the main area was very large indeed, the whole marquee, was properly floored out and had a good size dance floor,patio doors led out onto decked areas, the seats were comfortable and the tables large, all the furniture was dressed exquisitly, the ceiling was drapped in fine cloth as in a shieks tent and all in all it looked magical, I would recommend this as a wedding venue for any couple who want there day to be magical and memorable. All the staff worked so hard to make sure everything went smoothly and everyone was happy.
The first thing I did that evening was to book a room for the weekend of our 25th anniversary in December and I just know it's going to be a wonderfully romantic weekend for us.
I must thank all the wonderful staff for their hard work and making us feel so welcome and special.
yours most sincerely,
Mr G Foster.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, the hotel does have a ground floor room for dissabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 717 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

The food at Lazaat had an Eastern quality, some unusual dishes, all very tasty. I was only there for the lunch, which was a buffet, but would highly recommend it. Beautiful surroundings, inside and out, very helpful, courteous staff. Would defininately return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I went for dinner and stayed the night in the hotel.
The food was fantastic a very well priced as were the rooms. The rooms are to a very high standard as was the food and service from the staff, who were friendly, polite and professional.
I will be recommending Lazaat and I will be staying and eating there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8M3V8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have previously struggled to find a decent, reasonably priced hotel near Hull until I discovered the Lazaat. The rooms are spacious enough for both relaxation and work with hidden dressing areas and fabulous showers. Rooms have mini bars and real coffee, not the usual miserly sachets. Decor throughout is unique and full of character. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 12 is huge although other rooms have large wet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Me and my wife had a fantastic lunch time meal, help yourself to a vast choice of the best cooked food in the area , fantastic surroundings, happy to help staff, who are a credit to this hotel., the bill was the icing on the cake, so reasonable it beats many pub food prices , well done Lazaat, for a first class service , a hidden gem .we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reedy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Myself and my partner had our civil partnership at Lazaat on easter sunday. We hired the saffron suite for the ceremony then the monsoon suite for the reception, meal and night do. And wow, what a fantastic day we both had! Lazaat really made our big day that extra special! We paid for the winter/spring package which included certain complimentary items such as a pianist for the welcome drinks, a DJ for the night do, fireworks, cocktails, champagne upgrade, honeymoon suite, champagne breakfast and much more. The hotel staff were always at hand to help with anything we required. All of our guests said that the venue was beautiful and they were made to feel welcome.
The food, wow, what can I say, mouth water? Everybody enjoyed every mouthful. We chose prawn cocktail with guacamole or tomato and basil soup for starter, beef wellington or smoked cheese parcels for main, then everyone had cheesecake for desert. The childrens menu was brilliiant which was chicken goujons, chips and peas. The goujons were huge! The beef wellington tasted like it was slow cooked, and the gravy was lovely.
The gardens for our pictures were set in a secluded area which had features for pictures of the two of us like a large pond with a bridge over, and white painted metal swings and statues which made the pictures look vintage and classy.
The night do was excellent. The DJ Lazaat used unfortunately was taken ill the night of our wedding, however, a replacement was sent and he still got everyone up onto the dance floor. The evening buffet was gorgeous, the variety of food was brilliant and very very tasty (well according to our guests as we were too busy we didn't get to try anything). We were originally was worried about the size of the monsoon suite as the maximum capacity was 150 people and we had 140 coming. But the room size easily fitted our guests in, with room to dance, move and feel comfortable. Lazaat also made sure we had adequate seating in the room for people who wanted to sit down.
The rooms were perfectly sized and comfortable. We had a walk in shower, walking in wardrobe, mini bar and dressing gowns to change into. The bed was huge and very comfortable!
We have already recommended Lazaat to friends and family for future functions and look forward, ourselves, the return over and over again in the future!

Thank you again Lazaat!

Nick & Ben Stapleton x

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Conveniently located near Beverley. Plenty of parking. Attractively decorated bedrooms and public rooms and all extremely clean. Bedrooms are spacious and well equipped. Service very friendly. The only two downsides were (I) the rooms suffer some traffic noise as the hotel is near a busy road and (ii) there is a limited choice for breakfast and this is served, making it quite slow to complete your meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert_and_Kazuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottingham
2.1 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
6.9 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
3.2 mi away
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
5.7 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazaat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazaat

Address: Wood Hill Way, Cottingham HU16 5SX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Cottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cottingham
Price Range: $52 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lazaat 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 1/2 acres of elegant gardens, which were once wild and overgrown shrub land, we provide accommodation in seventeen really great standard bedrooms. We also have six spaces (we hate the words 'conference' & 'banqueting') which are well equipped, with lots of natural light and more than you would expect from a good standard venue. Not to forget our lovely space that we use for our Restaurant which has personality in plenty. Get in touch, we would love to hear from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lazaat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazaat Hotel Cottingham
Lazaat Cottingham, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing