We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room in a fabulous house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Percy House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Percy House
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice clean room in a fabulous house.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

In a great location in the center of Whimborne. Very welcoming and a lovely room. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Give_good_service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We booked this as basically it was the only room left in Wimborne. We found the room to be rather outdated, certainly not the 5 star accomodation promised. We stayed on the top floor which is obviously for families as it had a seperate sitting area with 2 single beds in it for the kids. This is good if you have kids but that meant the TV was in that room (and no i don't go away to watch TV but watching a bit of news in the morning is quite nice). The bathroom was very outdated and had half filled shampoo and shower gels bottles in it, presumably left behind from other guests which looked a bit messy. In a 5 star accomodaiton I'd expect toiletries to be provided. The breakfast was lovely, (have the cooked breakfast) and the owner attentive but this B&B isn't 5 star and is overpriced at £100. If its the only room in the town it'll do but don't expect too much!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bognorlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I was made to feel most welcome in this upmarket Georgian house B&B in the centre of Wimborne and had an excellent night's sleep in the very comfortable bed in a large room overlooking their lovely garden. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanParsons34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Enjoyed my stay immensley. Delightful bed and breakfast with beautiful garden, in the lovely setting of Wimborne. Friendly attentive hosts and excellent breakfast. Would like to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethBeetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Percy House is an imposing mainly Georgian house right off the square in the centre of Wimborne Minster with a garden which stretches right down to the river. The garden itself looked as if it had a one time been beautiful but is now in need of modernising [it was not easy to tell in mid Feb].
Parking was in a neighbouring private car park.
We found the B&B rather lacking. The room itself was fine though the walk to the loo in the night was tiresomely long [self contained facilities]. The furnishings and decoration all need improving as they are rather tired and were obviously cheap when bought. We did not have a cooked breakfast but the cereal etc was rather lacking in care and imagination.
Overall the impression is of a place which badly needs some money spending on it and more care in cleaning and customer comfort and welcome.
We were charged £100 a night which we thought was very expensive for what it is. We would not go again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teaselshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

This B&B is fantastic and almost like staying with friends. The house itself is spacious and clean and the gardens are amazing. We stayed in a room that had one big double bed room, a separate dressing room and a big bathroom all for 80 pounds. The location is great approx 50 metres from the main square. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was also lovely. for the price you cannor go wrong with this one.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Limited Parking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank discerningtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wimborne Minster hotels
0.2 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.8 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
#2 of 27 in Wimborne Minster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 9
Number 9
#9 of 27 in Wimborne Minster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
2.0 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 27 in Wimborne Minster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Percy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Percy House

Property: Percy House
Address: 4 East Borough, Wimborne Minster BH21 1PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Minster
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Percy House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Percy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Percy House Wimborne Minster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing