We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return”
Review of Gordon House

Gordon House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne Minster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gordon House
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We will return”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

After failing to find reasonably priced accommodation or somewhere not booked up local to Wimborne, I found this gem on tripadvisor. Booked a twin room for myself and work colleague by phone without any problem. Arrival was friendly and welcoming, our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed, (the tea in the room was drinkable). A two minute walk took us to the main square and the towns facilities. Breakfast (full English) was well cooked and presented and there was the usual choice of cereals available. A four mile drive got us to our business location the next morning. We were both very impressed with this guest house and having stayed in other local places on previous visits agreed that if this standard is maintained Gordon House will see lots more of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
22
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Gordon House recently and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We were made to feel very welcome, our room was immaculately clean and the breakfasts and service were 1st Class. Looking forward to another visit soon. Excellent all round!!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have stayed at Gordon House a few times a month since February 2013 and it is, for me, like a dream come true. It is so reasonably priced, the lady Annie, who runs this outfit is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, warm and have WI FI!!! Free!! Every room is different, all have en-suite, and very cute. Annie cooks a killer boiled or poached egg - whatever you want!
Location wise, it is a short walk from the centre of historic Wimbourne (where there is a crazy good Italian restaurant that does the 1/ & 1/2 pizza and pasta option - something I had never heard of before now, but what a good idea).
10/10 people!

Room Tip: Tell Annie what you want, she will sort you out. If you have issues with slopey ceilings (in the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Incredibly competitively priced, room was very clean and functional - and cleaned each night including toilet cleaner in the loo (it's the little things!). Wifi, tea making facilities, TV with perfect freeview reception and a perfectly fine shower & toilet.

Fantastic location too - and the breakfast each morning was spot on, and plentiful too with cereals, orange juice, toast as well as a full cooked breakfast of your choice.

Can't fault the place! I stayed here on business and well worth considering as an alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mat_would
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here with my mother whilst visiting family and friends before Christmas. The owner was absolutely lovely and so hospitable. Our room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed including tv, wifi and kettle etc. The cooked breakfast was extremely good and cooked to perfection every day. It was the first time we had stayed at a B and B as we usually stop with friends but we enjoyed our time so much and found the whole experience so relaxing, that we have already booked again to stay in Apirl. I really cannot commend this place highly enough and would recommend to anyone. It is literally 2mins walk from the centre of Wimborne with a range of cafes and restaurants as well as local amenities such as shops and churches etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The owners are so very friendly and approachable - going out of their way to make our stay a pleasant and relaxing one. The room was very clean and had all that we needed. Nothing was too much for the owners and they were full of suggestions for places to see and do around the area. We couldnt have asked for more. We shall most definately visit again. Thank you ever so much to you Annie and Malcolm. See you next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When we arrived we were a little worried by the location as it is on a main road but once inside its very peaceful and ideal to get into the town centre. The rooms are well decorated and really comfortable. The owners couldn't do enough for us and talked us through all the local amenities - a really helpful chat about where is good and where to avoid (all of her recommendations were spot on as well).

Breakfast was well cooked and tasty. We will definitely be booking again next time we are down near Poole.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleLime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wimborne Minster hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
15 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
#2 of 26 in Wimborne Minster
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wimborne Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Wimborne Lodge Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 26 in Wimborne Minster
89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 26 in Wimborne Minster
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon House

Property: Gordon House
Address: Gordon House 42 West Borough, Wimborne Minster BH21 1NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Minster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Wimborne Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Gordon House Wimborne Minster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing