We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very pleasant stay”
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another very pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our third stay at the Kings Head. Since our last visit the hotel has been completely refurbished, and what a nice job they've made of it. Our room, overlooking The Square of this lovely market town, was spacious and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast menu is extensive, from Continental to Full English. We have always found the staff very friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    242
    130
    58
    34
See reviews for
119
312
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our third old English inn break but the first at the kings head did not disappoint.
We were given room number 1 which was nice and clean however
The room was very hot and on opening the window found it a bit noisy as it seems to be over the kitchen. The food as always was excellent
As usual and the staff are friendly and do everything to making sure the stay is
Enjoyable. Very good value. Shame the model town was closed
But we found enough to do to occupy ourselves for the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a front one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksonthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Lovely old coaching Inn right on the town square, free parking at rear. Staff were all very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. Lift to room which was traditionally decorated, good size very clean,huge comfy bed,small sofa at bottom, desk &chair, good size bathroom with bath and shower,lots of clean towels each day, tea making facilities, iron &ironing board, room service if required. The choice at breakfast was amazing, (hot & cold).We had dinner on two evenings,food very good lots of choice, a very reasonably priced one two or three course menu or al la carte. The second evening we took a friend with us, the reason for our stay was her husbands funeral next day, she became poorly at dinner and passed out the staff were so kind and helpful attending to her and helping us get her to the car, next day when we returned they asked how the funeral went and how she was, we can't thank them enough and can't wait to visit again, in happier times.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I couldn't fault the hotel at all. The location is excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable and clean. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening, but the breakfast was very good.

One thing I would say is that the free car park is not that easy to find if you aren't familiar with the one way system in Wimborne, so it's worth having a quick look on google maps before you go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuitchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here one night, great value for money, lovely rooms, great breakfast very nice and helpful staff. Overall excellent and would highly recommend, female staying alone and felt very safe. Did not eat dinner at the hotel but it looked very good

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I dont get this place it has the best location, a beautiful building and in the heart of Wimborne,. But the worst staff, i have ever seen. I went here today to have a meal. The staff were arguing, and unprofessional and not fit for a hotel in the centre of Wimborne. Who ever employed them, needs a talking to.There is no excuse for the behaviour of the staff, i was embarrassed and left totally disgusted.This is not the first time i have witnessed such poor standards at the hotel. Somebody needs to get a grip on this issue. Whilst i cant understand it, i go to the fox and hounds another greene king pub locally and it is quite the opposite. The staff are attentive, working as a team and a credit to the company.I doubt nothing will be done about the situation as the place has a sense of nobody caring.

Room Tip: Avoid This place, if you can . Cant think of anything positive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank adriandebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wimborne Minster hotels

Cullompton
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for just one night as we were visiting the local town theatre. The staff were very efficient on arrival and we were showed to our room and advised to order dinner by 6pm to give us time to get to the theatre. The room was a little "shabby" but this may be down to the fact that the hotel was under refurbishment. We had large damp patches on the ceiling and in the bathroom along with other fixings missing and holes in the walls when they should have been. As we arrived around 5pm we didn't make any comment at the time as we wanted to ensure we got to the theatre on time. Unfortunately I think everyman and his dog decided to eat in the "restaurant" before the show. We had to wait 45 mins for a simple main dish . On the plus side the breakfast was well prepared and had a good variety of choice. We mentioned the problems to the desk on the way out and they gave us the HO details. A swift email with pics attached of the problems resulted in a letter of apology and £40 of Greene King Vouchers. The setting is good and we hope to return to see if the "refurb" has been succesful.

Room Tip: Some rooms over look the town square which is very noisy at night .. Ask for a room not overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Furryflaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne Minster
1.9 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
15 reviews
6.8 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Leonards
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
6.1 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
898 reviews
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Ringwood
Travelodge Ringwood
#2 of 2 in St Leonards
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: The Square, Wimborne Minster BH21 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Minster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wimborne
Kings Head Hotel Wimborne Minster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing