We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We required accommodation for just one night to see a show at the Tivoli Theatre and could only find a standard room at The Kings Head, a town centre 'pub' so thought we would have to 'slum it'.

So far from the truth! Yes, it is right in the centre of the town, but it is an impressive 28 bedroom inn, recently renovated, with the advantage of an enclosed car park. Our "standard" room was comfortable, spacious and superb, better than some superior rooms we have known. All the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. There is a large bar that is very busy in the evenings but without loud music.

Wimborne Minster is a very pleasant town to visit and the theatre stages some good acts, we will definitely return to The King's Head.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bparkercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 679 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We only stayed one night and our superior room was excellent and spotless. It was very hot in the room but with the window open the bells of the Minster every 15 minutes throughout the night made it very difficult to sleep. The service at the hotel has let it down. The car park was a nightmare getting in and getting out due to double parking, and although the breakfast was good, we waited 45 minutes from the time of order to delivery to our table. The two waitresses for about 50 people were working very hard, but it is obvious that more staff are needed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a lovely little pub/hotel right on the square in Wimborne. We've been there before and it was shabby - but the refurbishment has improved the look of the place completely. The staff are lovely but sooooo busy. I think just one more waitress at breakfast would've helped. My husband's scrambled eggs were cool and rubbery and we're still waiting for our toast! I mentioned to the duty manager that the girls were rushed off their feet - and he said it was the guest's fault for all coming down to breakfast together. The breakfast hours were 8 -10 am, they knew how many were staying, doesn't take a rocket scientist to predict breakfast might be busy.

Room Tip: quieter at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aygo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was great, newly renovated, large corner room with view of the square; just a delight. It was clean, nicely decorated, center of town, parking behind, quiet, convenient, etc. The staff were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was fine with lots of choices. We wouldn't think twice to stay here again. Several themes and rooms for dining any time of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k0bau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel has had a mjor refurbishment which has really worked wonders the rooms are well appointed and the bar area is expanded to take in what used to be a couple of poky little rooms. Food here was greart both in the evening and for breakfast. The only drawback was the really slow service, in the restaurant mainly due to a very low level of staffing and on one occasion a member of staff was said to be absent. The service when it arrived was great and really personable though we did have to wait a long time at every meal we had

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintmoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I loved staying here for 2 days with my mum and dad! All the staff were friendly and the food was yummy! My mum and dad loved it too. My favourite bit was how lovely our room was, it was brand new after a recent refurbishment. Thank you to all the friendly staff, especially Kathy who was lots of fun!! Can't wait to come back!!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Beanz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our first visit to this lovely hotel; to find a high standard of cleanliness, comfort and service.
We were made to feel welcome on arrival and there was good coffee at breakfast from smiling morning staff; both essential for a good hotel experience!
We had left some precious photos behind, but they were located and returned to us the next day.
Well done, everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creditwheredue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne Minster
1.9 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
23 reviews
6.8 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Leonards
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
8.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
491 reviews
7.2 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: The Square, Wimborne Minster BH21 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Minster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne Minster
Price Range: $68 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wimborne
Kings Head Hotel Wimborne Minster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing