We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Head Hotel
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Country hotel”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Pleasant hotel with above average food and pleasant service. Our room was excellent, having been recently refitted and redecorated.

Plenty of heat on a cold January weekend and plenty of hot water. Pretty good value too and the place had an olde-worlde charm, as does the town. Good walking and loads of pubs to choose from. The Minster is worth a visit and there is plenty to do in the area.

Some of the public areas of the hotel are tired with stained wallpaper and threadbare carpets but i imagine they will have to do something about them soon as they have clearly suffered in the recent wet weather with many fresh stains on the ceiling and upper walls.

Would i stay again - most definitely.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road. Ours was no 29 and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    238
    128
    55
    33
See reviews for
117
307
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I had a lovely stay with my family at christmas... Was a lovely weekend!
Rooms were clean and quiet. The hotel is located perfectly in the middle of a sweet market town and close to everything you might need.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place is Ok if you need somewhere to crash for a night for a wedding or similar. But not for a holiday or weekend away.

It's one of those depressingly English places that's just a bit rubbish. The paper is peeling off the walls - literally. The carpets are threadbare (and stained in my room). We took 3 rooms (incl a superior one) and they were all in a similar state of disrepair. In one room there had clearly been a mirror or picture on the wall that had been taken down, but no question of filling the holes of painting over. The window in one room had almost no paint left on it and dirty windows where a previous guest had drawn smily faces in the grime. Just not acceptable. These things cost little. And the chamber maid rapped sharply onthe door with her keys at 0900 - so definitely don't forgaet to put the do not disturb sign.

But to be fair there are some plus points too: modern bathrooms with lots of hot water. Extremely comfy beds with surprisingly good linen. And an excellent breakfast (although the marmalade had run out which is a bit pathetic). So perhaps they are sensibly spending money on the things that really matter and this is a work in progress. But for now I'm sure you could do better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wimborne Minster hotels

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I know the hotel is over 200 years old, and is a cheap price compared to other
accommodation in Wimborne but it certainly shows. The communal areas such as stairs and corridors to bedroom have threadbare carpets, peeling wallpaper & smell really musky. The bedroom is not much better. Although its a fair size, and has a decent en suite, the walls have scuff marks everywhere, the wallpaper also peeling off & the furniture looks like its been picked up from a tip. In our particular room (12) we also have a lovely splatter of some 'red/brown liquid' on the 12ft high ceiling.
The whole hotel is boiling hot & we've had to keep our window open the whole time... In January! The kettle & tea/coffee are strewn in a random cupboard & there's no available plug sockets. I have also had a right drama connecting to the free wifi that I have now given up. The only compliment I have for this hotel is the location in the square, it's perfect and the cleanliness is good considering the desperate need for general maintenance. There is room service and the food is pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Adam and his team would like to convey their apologise
that your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take all feedback both
negative and positive very seriously and will look to rectify the issues
you've mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed just one night in December 2012 and got a great deal here. The decor was definitely in need of a facelift, but the room was spacious, well equipped and clean, the staff very helpful and the choice of breakfast dishes was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your constructive and positive feedback.
All the team at the Kings Head Hotel look forward to seeing
you again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights just before Christmas (before the mad rush!) on a special deal @ £9.95 per head per night! inc breakfast! Service was good and staff freindly, breakfast was very good too. The room was well equipt, clean and the bed was very comfortable. As it was very near Christmas the bar was very noisy but we couldn't hear it at all from our room. The building itself is a bit 'tired' in places but overall a pleasant stay and amazing value!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFrayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
Myself and the team are pleased that you enjoyed
your stay. Look forward to seeing you again in 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from a three nights' break in the Kings Head Hotel, Wimborne.
Our room was clean, comfortable and equipped with the usual tea/coffee making facilities. It also overlooked the Square which on arrival we liked. We were however to become less than impressed from the overnight noise outside coupled with the creaking floorboards which resulted in three fairly sleepless nights . Of course, in fairness to the management they can do little about this

The food was excellent and served by exceptionally friendly staff which somewhat compensated for the problems upstairs!!

The carpark is really inadequate for the number of rooms it serves and was full when we arrived. Fortunately a space became available as we were unloading our luggage. Again the management have their hands tied and are in a no win situation here.

Despite the aforementioned problems we did enjoy our stay and would recommend the hotel - but avoid room three!!

Room Tip: Check with the management before booking and avoid a room overlooking the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback and am pleased that you enjoyed your
stay. We will continue to work on the valid points you have raised. I will pass on your
positive feedback to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wimborne Minster
6.8 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Leonards
627 reviews
1.9 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Minster Arms
The Minster Arms
#3 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
277 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Property: Kings Head Hotel
Address: The Square, Wimborne Minster BH21 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Minster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wimborne Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Wimborne
Kings Head Hotel Wimborne Minster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing