We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely set up, beautiful things but all very pricey for my budget!”

Walford Mill Crafts
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walford Mill Crafts welcomes you to the beautiful listed Mill building on the outskirts of Wimborne town centre. Here you can enjoy a wonderful display of contemporary crafts from local and national makers, leading exhibitions and the Millstream Café. A visit to Walford Mill Crafts will be relaxing, enjoyable and inspirational.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
649 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Lovely set up, beautiful things but all very pricey for my budget!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is in no way a criticism. I very much enjoyed looking at the variety and amount of exhibits and things for sale at the Mill, lovely interior and beautiful location.
But now being a retiree, currently looking for work, I found the prices on the whole, very expensive. Thats not to say that some of the items for sale were not necessarily value for money, there were a lot of things I liked very much but these days would be able to afford very few of them, and then only for a special present for someone.
But as an exhibition space and the opportunity to enjoy the intuition and skill of the artists and creators, its great. The tearoom next door is excellent and the scenery around the Millstream is beautiful, particularly in the snow!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalfordMillCrafts, Public Relations Manager at Walford Mill Crafts, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. I do appreciate it was quite some time ago now though, so please excuse the delay in replying.

The items in our shop may not seem like value for money at first glance, but everything you see in the shop is made completely by hand which can be very time consuming, so work is priced accordingly. We are aware that we need to cater for all pockets and have recently introduced some smaller and more affordable items. Things are always changing in the gallery and shop and we hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. We look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Quirky and current”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Always a joy to visit, Walford mill offers not only a thought provoking range of displays and items to buy, but also wonderful scenery and a lovely eatery. Minutes walk from Wimborne town centre its well worth a visit, especially if you are looking to purchase an unusual gift or indulge in an artwork for yourself!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaisySorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“great range of crafts”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Housed in and old mill, this is an excellent craft centre. We watched a weaver at work on her loom in the upstairs gallery. There are textiles, glass, wood, ceramics, and jewellery for sale. There was a temporary exhibtion in the large gallery. There is disabled access and lift, convenient car park a short walk away (pay meter), and a friendly cafe where you can have a light luch. We had quiche and salad. The centre of the market town of Wimborne Minster is a short walk away.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“summer craft activities for children”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

booked by son on a couple of craft activities over the summer holidays which he really enjoyed. appeared well organised and enough people to help out if the children needed. would go again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walford Mill Crafts also viewed

 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 

Been to Walford Mill Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing