We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best”
Review of Taj

Taj
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This has got to be the best indian restaurant I have ever eaten in and I have eaten in a lot.the staff are very attentive and will help you with your selection, the food is fantastic and presented really well, if you have not tried this place you must.Taj the owner is always on hand to chat with you to make your visit that more personal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    37
    7
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience Food & Ambiance 2nd to none”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had an Indian takeaway over Easter & was that good we decided to take the family there for a sit down the following evening. Its a very personal place is definitely all about the customer. Quite simply this was one of the best quality,quantity & service we have had. Having travelled a lot of the world and tasted a lot of different type of foods, this restaurant got it just right. Out of the blue our 14 year old decided to ask the waiter to advise from the menu,along the lines of 'quite hot but not too hot'. The waiter listened patiently ask some questions then the most delicious dish was presented.I must also mention the ambiance here is incredible, if you arrive feeling hungry & tense you will definitely leave feeling suitably full & very relaxed. It was an incredible experience. If a bad review is made about this restaurant then you really have to question its contents, could this be a frightened competitor trying to give it a spoiler. I would put my money on it. So a very well done to all the staff, we will be back & with our friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Never been let down by our local 'Indian'. Always good food and service but rather limited wine selection.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“prepare to be disappointed!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We have just moved to Corfe Mullen and were delighted to see this great looking Indian restaurant not far away. We booked a table for 7.30 on a Friday night and the place looks pretty good on the inside too. While we were looking at the menu a waiter asked me to pull my chair in a bit so the people behind me could have more room. I'm an average size bloke so i was quite miffed about that. We ordered poppadoms to start and they came to the table light brown and tasted just as bad as they looked. The onion salad and lime pickle dips had other stuff mixed in amongst it so clearly hadn't been freshly served. I ordered garlic chilli chicken and pilaw rice while my wife had chicken tikka as her main meal. Mine was simply awful. My wife politely grimaced as she did her best not to spit it out. How on earth can they get the rice so bad? We quickly paid the bill (£50) and the waiter looked sheepish as he cleared the table. Oh well, never mind, i suppose it's back to the Himachol in Parkstone for us. If you haven't been to the Taj in Corfe Mullen yet, please, just give it a miss.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Always sure to get delicious food”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Once again a birthday well spent eating stunning food at the Taj. Always a winner with friends. It was very quiet only another few tables in use but the atmosphere was pleasant. It was all immaculately clean until the birthday girl smeared mango chutney on the white linen cloth. I know the waiters don’t want to hassle you when your chatting but perhaps clearing the table could have happened a little
sooner but otherwise a perfect night. We all enjoyed our meals and were thoroughly full at the end. Reasonably priced. About £20 each for a main meal, drink and tip. Will keep coming back. Easily One of the best
in Dorset.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akbithrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Broadstone, Dorset
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Corfe Mullen, Wimborne Minster
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 

Been to Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing