We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Thatch

The Old Thatch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Staff and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The service and staff are very friendly and are always happy to adapt the set menu to accommodate personal choice. The food is well cooked and attractively served.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vetitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    106
    25
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food & staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

the food is excellent and resonably priced.the staff are first class,very helpfull, and cheerful.always make you feel very wellcome.nothing to much trouble.have visited 5or6 times,and we think the best place anywhere local.nice to have a family run establishment.would recommend to any one wanting good food and service. brenda&charlie

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charles794393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and thirst quenching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice food...even offer lamb as a roast which is a really nice treat.
Dog friendly.
Some dubious entertainment at times.
Well worth a visit, book for a table at weekends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drusif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The service and food were excellent, we have been many times, and count it as 'our local'!. Our friends that were with us the other evening, said it was the best pub meal they had had in years!! We agree, staff friendly, service a bit slow, but the food is worth the wait

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Old Thatch pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good service and good priced food busy when we went in and our 3rd visit will go back.
Staff very good and very helpful.
I have read the reports about the dogs and i dont see this as a problem as all the dogs were well behaved, we need to keep these pubs going and give it a try.
We have not seen any children on our visits.
The food is of a better quality than others in the location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Thatch also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Sturminster Marshall, Wimborne Minster
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 

Been to The Old Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing