We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good day for us or the Fox & Hounds”
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Not a good day for us or the Fox & Hounds”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Unfortunately for our first visit to this pub/restaurant they were having a bad day but didn't tell you when you ordered your food. After some considerable time we had to chase the staff for our starters that when they arrived were so small that it really wasn't worth the effort. Breaded mushrooms amounted to 6 of the smallest button mushrooms you could imagine with a couple of sad leaves of lettuce for garnish and as for the halloumi bruschetta well I think I will leave it as just a bit sad really that they think this makes for a starter. Onwards to the main courses that after a further 35 minutes had not arrived and we were told the allotted 40 minutes was not yet up so it would be a little while yet!!! Apparently we should have been told when ordering our food that there was a 40 minute wait - if we had been told then we would not have ordered and gone elsewhere. One waitress told us there was a problem with the staff rota and they were short staffed and another told us there was a problem with kitchen equipment and there had been a break down in communication between the kitchen and the front of house. More like no communication between the two entities. We watched one table of six people being served their main courses, two people received their meals but then there was a gap of about 4-5 minutes before two more plates of food appeared brought by a different waitress - hardly the way to serve a table and clearly no joined up thinking or service delivery, we didn't see the other 2 plates of food arrive but presumably they did eventually. Anyway enough was enough we went out for lunch not afternoon tea and therefore gave up waiting. They did refund our food bill and after a little persuasion our drinks too which I consider to be the least they could do. It's a lovely location and setting for the pub but if they have a problem with service delivery for whatever reason then tell people, or limit the menu so they can actually deliver rather than try to do everything and fail dismally. I only hope they have got their act together for New Year's Eve otherwise people will be eating on New Year's Day instead. The experience did spoil a rare day off work for us and was a place that had been recommended to us but we obviously picked a very bad day to visit, not sure that I will bother again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GillianSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    127
    105
    143
    166
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Difficult Landlady”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were not made welcome by the Landlady and this is after pre booking our group to the pub. This was the second time and the Manager forgot we were the customer!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrBeaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Constantly good service”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Living locally we use the Fox and Hounds quite a bit.

This large pub easily caters for families and we do go for Sunday Lunches with our young children. The pub has ample outside seating as well as internal seating. Lovely in the summer!

It does have an external play area with a decent robust climbing structure built in a safe soft zone. There is also an adjoining field which doubles as overflow parking - but is generally empty giving kids a further area to play ball or whatever.

It can get busy as it is known for its good atmosphere and food. If there are going to be any delays in your order, they usually tell you before you place your request. (So many people think food is instant - if you want that then visit KFC)

Which brings me to a very good point - if you are going for a meal you may want to phone ahead and book a table to save disappointment.

This pub has the usual array of beers and spirits as well as a decent selection of soft drinks.

The staff are always eager to help and nothing seems to be much of a problem to make sure you are happy.

We would recommend this pub and will continue to use them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

December 1st another visit to the pub but sadly yet again slow service they said 30mins which we accepted but 45 mins later we asked if we had been forgotten, shortly after it arrived . Decided against a pudding as the family next to us had been waiting 20 mins,their little boy had been very patient it's a shame because it's a nice pub and the food is good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pub chain chic”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Thatched buildings, expensively refurbished by brewery. Pleasant interior, wood fires etc. Disappointing selection of beers, but that could just be me; but the choice was bland. Typical pub chain menu; nothing offensive, but nothing inspired. I get the feeling that most of the food is pre-prepped, and that there is much reliance on microwaves and deep freezes. There is no excuse for the total absence of self-challenge on the part of the kitchen staff; a sprinkle of chopped parsley, or a drizzle of oil or balsamic cost nothing, and enliven an unambitiously prepared plate. More effort needed, if you are to move on from dull pubgrub!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing