We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service”
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

December 1st another visit to the pub but sadly yet again slow service they said 30mins which we accepted but 45 mins later we asked if we had been forgotten, shortly after it arrived . Decided against a pudding as the family next to us had been waiting 20 mins,their little boy had been very patient it's a shame because it's a nice pub and the food is good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    119
    98
    133
    160
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pub chain chic”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Thatched buildings, expensively refurbished by brewery. Pleasant interior, wood fires etc. Disappointing selection of beers, but that could just be me; but the choice was bland. Typical pub chain menu; nothing offensive, but nothing inspired. I get the feeling that most of the food is pre-prepped, and that there is much reliance on microwaves and deep freezes. There is no excuse for the total absence of self-challenge on the part of the kitchen staff; a sprinkle of chopped parsley, or a drizzle of oil or balsamic cost nothing, and enliven an unambitiously prepared plate. More effort needed, if you are to move on from dull pubgrub!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Nice Saturday night meal”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice pub with friendly staff and good pub grub. Great out door play area, although we did use it as it was night time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetJemimah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick lunch”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited for lunch, reasonable food but not special, my friend had a burger which was 6/10, the chips were greasy. My overcooked jacket potato with chilli was fine, the Jalopeno peppers were a nice idea. Service was pleasant, young staff but very courtious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice meal”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went as my friend wanted to go for her birthday.I read some of the reviews which weren't very favorable, we had starters which were nice and good main meals no puddings as we had enough to eat the service was good for what we had the price was very good we would go again.If you want better food better service go somewhere else and pay a fortune.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Horton, Wimborne Minster
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing