We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice meal”
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice meal”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went as my friend wanted to go for her birthday.I read some of the reviews which weren't very favorable, we had starters which were nice and good main meals no puddings as we had enough to eat the service was good for what we had the price was very good we would go again.If you want better food better service go somewhere else and pay a fortune.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    127
    105
    143
    166
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Throw away the microwaves!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lovely pub gorgeous garden and that is where the positives end sadly. As per my title throw away the microwaves, we have enough wetherspoons already we don't need to start turning our country pubs into them. Arguably they are turning over a fortune, but people go to them knowing what to expect, I did not expect microwaved pre packaged food from such a lovely place, and I agree with the previous reviewer I think the mash is powdered from a packet - maybe it was a one off and they had run out. We will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK'ish food if your not in a hurry!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This local pub claims to provide great home cooked food, They serve up reasonable food, but if there is 10 cars in the car park expect a long wait, a decent size restaurant and a massive outdoor seating area, the trouble is they just cant cope, if its a quarter full your food could take hours, literally, we were told 40 mins wait, the pub was not busy, an hour later we were told 20 mins, 40 mins later we got served, If you sit outside you are given a hamper, with condiments assumably to keep the wasps of, the garden is noisy from the road, and the overflow park in a paddock next to the garden , the problem is parents allow there children to play football there, so your car gets hit quite regularly
There are some other local Pubs that can serve food in 20 mins even when busy, The Fox and Hounds just cant do this, a glimpse of sunshine, a few diners, and it all goes wrong.
This review is from a recent experience, but I have eaten here 5 times this year (keep getting invited and think..Oh no!) and on each occasion its the same.

My Tip would be.... go for evening meal in the summer, but order it at lunchtime !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisplumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“unhappy customer”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

we have been coming here for a few years and have always enjoyed our visit great for dogs but we visited 22nd sept around 4 oclock, five of us all ordered differant dinners, i ordered beef roast dinner.
when i received it the plastic beef was so cold i complained, after being put in the microwave which made it so hot i burnt my mouth i decided to just get on with it and eat the rest and leave the pertend beef, so i tried the mash potatoes this i did not expect but it was instant mash that was it i sent it back and complained they offered a replacement but the other guest had finished so i decided not to eat anything else my husband was upset so when he paid he asked to see the manager shocked to find him to be so young, the manager said the beef is never cold ( so calling us liers basically) said the beef was cooked the night before clearly another lie and that they do not use instand mash as all my table tried the mash and confermed what i thought, that is clearly a lie to, i have no idea what has happened to this place but one thing is sure we wont be going back and all these complaints will catch up with them i am sure about that with so many pubs closing they should not be so complacent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyndsey19842013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallorca
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Fox and Hound has a great kids park , wasps are a nightmare tho !!!

Food ok, beer great, the pub is cosy. Good place to go in the Autum / winter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank villamallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Charlton Marshall, Dorset
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing