We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At times glimpses of being more than a large pub, but let down at the final hurdle.”
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“At times glimpses of being more than a large pub, but let down at the final hurdle.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

A pretty pub with bags of parking.

The restaurant styled board asking you
to see Laura before taking a table, the chalk writing on the woodburner, and the busy tables suggested much.

The tables were a little too close, we could hear the conversations of the tables to either side.

The 40 minute wait for food was about right.

Was it worth it? Sadly my cheese and bacon burger was overcooked. The beef in chanti was the better bet on the day.

Neither meal was particularly expensive.

I wouldn't rush back, that said 1 minute of the A31 makes it an attractive proposition for its geographical location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    122
    100
    138
    166
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great pie”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

what a lovely time we had, it was refreshing to find somewhere that served food all day what with haveing tired hungry children on a saturday afternoon. The menu had plenty to choose from how ever we opted for the cheese and onion pie on the specials board (WOW) thank you for great food and service see you again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArranArran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A mild january night!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Fox and Hounds was relatively quiet when we returned on a mild post Christmas evening. We were warned on arrival that there would be a 30 minute wait for food and our starters of crispy chicken goujons with a tangy bbq sauce arrived just within that deadline. Our mains of quorn cottage pie and "award-winning" hand battered fish and chips with petits pois and tartare sauce were not far behind. Fine dining this is not but the quality is good and we all left satisfied.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dorsetgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, food ok”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A nice selection of ales on tap and a great country pub atmosphere, however the variety of meals on the menu wasn't great and the food was so so. Good service though, and would go again, but more for the drink than the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bettyjonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a catch-up with friends”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Last night was my first visit to the Fox and Hounds. Lovely atmosphere, and it wasn't daunting to walk in on my own to meet friends. I was the first of our group to arrive and I was very comfortable having a drink on my own whilst waiting. Reading some comments, it seems some people sit with a stopwatch waiting for their food - I have no idea how long ours took to arrive but it didn't seem unreasonable! I went for the Glamorgan burger which was really tasty, unfortunately the chips were very average. Will definitely return, especially in the summer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bug863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing