We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can I add .......”
Review of Riverside Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wimborne Minster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really can't add much more to the already fantastic reviews this site has achieved. I wanted to leave a review though as it has been voted our favourite campsite and the owners were amazingly helpful when our electrics failed in our van, offering us a new lead, battery pack etc. We had pitch number 5 (EHU for motorhome) and the setting was beautiful, we were under a tree and next to a lake where our son could happily fish. We would without doubt request this plot again.
It doesn't actually feel like a campsite, as the plots were so large. We enjoyed the communal campfire and our own fire at the motorhome when younger children camped close to the communal fire went to bed.
The surrounding area is lovely, we visited Hengistbury Head which we can all recommend and the Moors Valley park just up the road which is also brilliant (and free).
We will without doubt be back to Riverside Lakes and hope that other families enjoy it as much as we did.
Thank you Maggie and Nigel !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flosslovesjimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 103 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

just come back from this wonderful campsite, had a great 6 night stay, our 2 year old love the pigs and the ducks. the pitches are large, u get areal sence of space.. shower and wash up were very good. the lovely family who run it are very helpful with logs deliver to your tent everynight and glow sticks for the kids.we love this campsite looking forward to going again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We found Riversidelakes through Cool Camping and it's in their top ten UK campsites and deservedly so.

It's a magical spot and a great example of how it's possible to run a successful business without being overly commercial. The owners clearly put a huge amount of effort into the campsite and it shows. Logs delivered every night and an evening check in to make sure everyone's OK. Great facilities too.

Our first stay was only for one night after a trip to see family, but nevertheless we were still looked after very well. Needless to say we'll be back!

Just wonderful about sums it up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

You just can't match this campsite. Everything is perfect - including the rather marvelous 'eco-loo', basically a fully functioning toilet that doesn't use water and creates rich compost instead! Been coming here on the first weekend of the summer for a few years. The once basic shower block has now been replaced with a massive washrooms in a brand-new building with power-showers!

Why not take a dip in the (brown) lake? Or play hide-and-seek, cricket, football, and more in unoccupied pitches? This place is a dream, it is so quiet with no cars - drive to your pitch, unload, and then drive the car to the car park and then put up your tent. This works surprisingly well, although Nigel gave us a good telling off for driving up to the tents to drop off our fish and chips!

The fire pits, the new shower block, the privacy in the long grass, the peace, the owners. As we say in Hackney, "OMG!".

There used to be a zip-line and pedalos but the new owners had to do away with them because of a complicated insurance problem... Still an amazing site!

Room Tip: Bring a windbreak and a badminton set. 'Chillout' provides more shade than 'Centrepoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank That_Guy159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We took our 10 year old twins last year and am going again at the end of July. The owners and their sons made the holiday as we have stayed in Yurts, Tipis, and Soul pads in many locations but its the little things that count. We loved the ranger coming round with glow sticks and funny little stories for the kids. Maggie, his wife is equally lovely, really child focused and offered us fruit they had grown, and checked that we had utensils, equipment etc, and the couples sons are great - the twins loved Chris as he gave them a couple of rides on the back of his quad bike,and did so in a safe and fun way.

Due to the owners clear expectations the campsite was filled with lovely families and couples and there was always someone to talk to or children for the twins to go cray fishing with. In fact its an ideal place to try fishing with your kids in a safe and calm environment.

The Soul pads and tents etc are so far apart in places that you can just enjoy privacy and quietness if you want to. Ours was great by the woods and it was great to fall asleep to Owls hooting..

Shower block , kitchen area and Soul Pad were ultra clean and its nice that you can store some small items of food in the kitchen and chill your ice blocks. Toilet blocks are easy to get to - even late at night, and there is a supermarket nearby and the cooking utensils mean that camping was so easy !

We loved sitting with our twins at night toasting marshmallows or baking bananas in foil to have with choc sauce - you insert chocolate buttons in the bananas ( and a drop of brandy for us), outside our comfortable pad adorned with fairy lights. We also took some skittles and balls and card games for the days when it rained.

Top tips would be to take a kettle and stove or the days when its too much effort to light the outdoor cooking stuff just for a cup of tea, and a and a cool box/ice blocks, as you can put the blocks in the kitchen freezer in the morning and pick them up later and place them in your cool box with your drinks in the Soulpad if its a warm evening.

Well worth an excellent rating !

Room Tip: Ask the camp site owners advice as to which Soul pad would suit your needs, as all are placed in sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TheTurlando4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have been camping for about 10 years and this is the best campsite we have ever stayed at, even the weather was kind to us for our trip!

It's hard to list all of the things that make this site so excellent, but I'll try! The owners are lovely, they made us all feel very welcome. When we arrived they gave us the choice of al alternative pitch as we had small children with us and they thought we might like a shadier pitch. They explained where everything was and made sure we were happy and comfortable before they left us. The pitch we had was excellent (pitch number 18). The space between pitches is huge and the pitches themselves are ample (we have a large Vango Amazon 600 tent (8m x 4m)) and it fitted without any problem. The pitches are all cut from long grass and wild flowers (which our 4 year old daughter loved) The site is car free, which is excellent and not only makes it safer for kids but also make it quiester and generally nicer. The deal is you drive the car to the pitch, unload and then go and park your car. You really should not let this put you off, its great not to have the car next to you (and we have 3 small kids to carry / drag / bribe around the site!!)

Every night somene comes around with fire wood and all the bits you'll need to get a fire going in front of the tent, which is lovely, and very reasonably priced (£4). Later in the evening one of the owners comes around and has a chat and gives the kids a glow stick and generally makes you feel welcome. On our last night the owner came around in a golf buggy and gave our daughter a ride around the site.

The site itself is gorgeous, helped by the very small list of rules there are on this site. The main site is on a grassy area with woodland and lakes / streams around the edge. The lakes are lovely and full of wildflife, they offer some lovely walks. There are trees to climb, rope swings and lots of wildlife to look at. There are a load of friendly free range chickens roaming around as well as the cutest pigs you have ever seen! When we were there they had just had some piglets which they let all the children go into the pen and stroke, which our girls loved.

The facilities are basic, in a good way, but modern and clean and passed the test of my slightly OCD wife! There is no shop or clubhouse (which is great as they are usually rubbish anyway!) and there is a real sense that these guys are not out to take as much money from you as possible, quite the opposite in fact. The price we paid here was significantly less than we have paid elsewhere at sites that are just not in the same league as this place.

To summarise, this lovely family run business is a real gem, and you will not only have a lovely relaxing time but you will be made to feel really welcome and you'll want to come back again. My next job is to try and bok again now for the summer holidays!

Room Tip: All of the pitches are lovely, for those with small children it would perhaps be better to camp away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreww4rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Riverside Lakes and what an amazing place it is! We have camped and caravanned for the past 20 years and I can quite easily say that this is probably one of the best sites ever. There is no club house, play area or any other commercial stuff just acres of beautiful surroundings, lakes and huge pitches. We took 2 x 7 year old boys and I was a bit concerned about the lakes but there was no need to worry. They had great fun in the stream making clay pots and doing what boys do best - getting filthy! It's great to have a campfire every night and the glow sticks given to the children was a lovely touch. Keep up the amazing good work and see you soon !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifsogirl-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wimborne Minster hotels
5.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
671 reviews
6.0 mi away
Les Bouviers Rooms
Les Bouviers Rooms
#1 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horton Inn
Horton Inn
#1 of 1 in Horton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
1777. Bedrooms at the Albion
#3 of 27 in Wimborne Minster
95 reviews
6.1 mi away
Merley Court Holiday Park
Merley Court Holiday Park
#2 of 11 in Wimborne Minster
167 reviews
4.3 mi away
Canford Crossing B&B
Canford Crossing B&B
#1 of 27 in Wimborne Minster
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lakes

Address: Riverside Farm Slough Lane | Horton, Wimborne Minster BH21 7JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wimborne Minster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Wimborne Minster
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Riverside Lakes Hotel Wimborne
Riverside Lakes Wimborne Minster, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing