We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Black Bear Hotel
Ranked #22 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Pub”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We had a very pleasant few drinks here just before Christmas and were very happy to stay for the rest of the evening, it was fairly busy but a nice atmosphere ... then we were politely asked to move as we were sitting where the disco goes! After moving nearer to the bar the disco started up (Friday night) and we couldn't talk any longer. It was surprising as the bar was full of people who didn't look like they wanted a disco evening, so we left for another pub!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyclassix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    20
    20
    42
See reviews for
37
52
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

we were so impressed by the food when we ate here on Wednesday night that we returned to have equally good meal on Thursday
food is cooked beautifully and the staff were polite and friendly(must have been different bar staff) to your other reviewer Yes it was Halloween and the establishment was only in character and spirit as was much of Wareham with its cobwebs and bats etc it added to the character give it a try if your local they are a young family starting out and need your support you wont be disappointed and we WILL be back when visiting from Devon for the rack of ribs/chips and salad

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suelen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel to stay in after going to wedding nearby, room was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly and very helpful and breakfast was tasty. Would definitely use this hotel again and felt it was good value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here on a stop over from Germany,arrived late but was no problem. I booked a single room,which was right on the main road and slept like a log. My room could do with a bit of an overhaul,carpets and wallpaper could do with a tidy-up,but for what i got in was value for money. The food was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much for them. The service was always polite and with a smile..Had a great time in the bar with the locals and staff....would gladly stay here again when in the area...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went here after a day out in the purbecks. We did have trouble finding a restaurant as they actually have 2 rooms at the front and an outdoor area. The staff were really friendly and showed us where to go. The food was delivered quickly and all freshly made and great i cannot recommend this place more for the food if i could try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Dipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here once again but brought our small dog this time. There was no problem in having them there. We could eat comfortably in the bar or the garden terrace with him. Friendly staff, family run and lots to do in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieNigelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I booked a twin room here for one night during Summer 2013. My friend and I turned up late and left early, and none of this was a problem for the friendly staff who looked after us. We particularly appreciated having the breakfast fee taken off of our bill as we were leaving before breakfast was served. We also really appreciated being able to book somewhere for one night only as that was all we needed, and we got parking right outside the hotel.

It was noisy as there was some kind of fireworks celebration in town, and we needed the windows open as it was during the very hot spell of weather. The shower was terrible, although the bathroom did look like it had brand new fittings. I just could not get the right temperature through the shower and the pressure was not great at all. The bath, when run, was fine. The room was very basic.

However, for what the hotel offered, it was good value and the people were nice. If I was in the area and just needed a place to stay for a night or so then I would cheerfully return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FHTWMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wareham hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#9 of 23 in Wareham
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#12 of 23 in Wareham
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twiga House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bear Hotel

Property: The Black Bear Hotel
Address: 14 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Black Bear Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Hotel is a family friendly grade 2 listed period coaching inn, with 14 en-suite rooms, bar restaurant, pool table, beer garden and a function room that can be used for any occasion, business or leisure. We have a varied home cooked menu including daily specials and child options, featuring locally sourced produce. We serve local and regional real ales and selection of wines well behaved dogs are welcome. We have live music most weekends. We as a family took over the Bear on the 8th October 2012 and have been busy refurbishing the rooms and generally giving the old place a facelift, but not losing its character in the process. So the new management team, Lyn, Allan, Beccie, Podge and Maz would like you to welcome you if you choose to come and stay with us. There are several beautiful beaches and interesting sights close by. Wareham is an old market town enclosed by the famous walls and hold many historical features. The boat trips from the quayside to Poole are very popular. We are also central to Dorchester, Poole, Weymouth, Swanage and Corfe Castle, to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Black Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel
The Black Bear Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing