We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust the reviews as it is truly dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Black Bear Hotel
Ranked #22 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2012

As I was desperate I booked in spite of all the bad reviews and boy did I regret the experience.A colleague and I had both booked seperate rooms, luckily I had my confirmation slip but she had not brought hers and was cursorily told by the manager to find some where else if we did not share so not a good start. The room was a double, dated and not the cleanest. We could not get the TV to work so sadly missed Andy Murray at Wimbleson so a tad peeved. The bathroom door would not shut, so not much privacy for 2 people who are purely colleagues. We had booked breakfasts and as we needed to be away early informed the manager of this and were told that was tough and we would have to miss it. Having a drink in the bar was not much better as there was only 1 staff member on duty so a long queue formed as there was also a function going on, poor people. We had dinner and had a further 3 collegues join us for that and really the less said the better. Avoid this place for everything even if desperate as really sleeping on the grass in the park would be more pleasurable, very over priced for a smelly, down at heel hotel.

Room Tip: There are not any, avoid like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvette k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyn29396, Owner at The Black Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

the hotel is now under new management since 8/10/12 so this revue no longer applies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

I made a mistake to stay at this hotel and would hate anyone else to share my experience.
The shower pole and curtain were in a heap behind the door. The soap & shampoo of the the previous occupant was still on the bath,The flow of water from the hot tap was pathetic.
The hotel is tired out and is in dire need of a large dose of TLC. In the corridor was a lingering odour of stale smoke.

Room Tip: I am afraid I cannot make an entry as I only had my own experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyn29396, Owner at The Black Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

the hotel is now under new management since 8/10/12 so this revue no longer applies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

filthy, smelly , old, needs a lot of money spent on it, reminded me of a brothel, ( as seen on tv)
save your money, the rooms need a good clean,as do the carpets, bed was new and sheets clean, had shoes by the side of the bed as wouldnt walk on carpet, good for a german hells angel chapter , who were having the greasy breakfast on dirty plates and glasses with their lager and newky brown at 9am. so once its gutted , refurbished with clean china and untensils, i may recommend my worst enemy to visit, so stay at the red lion round the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sharenclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyn29396, Owner at The Black Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

the hotel is now under new management since 8/10/12 so this review no longer applies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked in March (ignoring the reviews!) but on arrival we were not given the rooms we had booked, one of the rooms had not been cleaned although they promised to do that, however even the rooms that had been cleaned were shabby, one of our party found a toenail in her bed,the bathrooms were shabby with tiles falling off, the kettle could not be filled, the bedside table did not have a bulb in it, the lampshade of main light was falling off,wallpaper falling off...we really should have listened to the reviews.
Its not a hotel but a hostel and a low quality one at that
Sad really because it could be a much better experience if a bit more care was taken

Room Tip: try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RFwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyn29396, Owner at The Black Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

the hotel is now under new management since 8/10/12 so this review no longer applies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Rooms were booked in March 2012 for June visit.............instead of 3 singles we ended up in one room due to "over booking" by Late Rooms.
Lamp with no bulb, filthy taps and plugs.
Really in need of some TLC!
Plus side some of the bedding was clean!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowser645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyn29396, Owner at The Black Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

the hotel is now under new management since 08/10/12 so this review no longer applies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Awful place damp with a musty smell! Top floor 4 poster, room 11 the one in the photo room boiling hot with all windows open, filthy not cleaned, bath not cleaned, tiles coming away from bath and wall, shower screen coming away from the wall, OTHER folks clothes still in bathroom!doors to which did not close! No toilet paper no cups, holes in wall by the door. Only clean thing towels and bedlinen! After poor night's sleep due to a massive fight going on downstairs,breakfast was a treat NOT!!! All other guests complaining about rooms and breakfast being overcooked but whilst we were sitting drinking a cup of tea and waiting for ours, foul water started to pour down onto us from the shower room above Manager said we were lucky it normally floods!! Transferred to bar area and we had to ask for new drinks as they were only going to bring the ones from the table we had to vacate, when breakfast arrived it was inedible as overcooked! Manager seemed at end of his tether like all of his guests!! Asked for money back and only got £50 cash took that as we did not want to stay a minute longer!! So think twice about staying here a night in your car would be better than a night in the Black Bear!

Room Tip: there isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here but couldnt believe it could be as awful the second time BUT it was!! A late booking both times so no other option but to stay here again! We asked for the room we had had before (11) and were told that the shower had now been mended! It did not stay on the wall last time we were there. On arrival in room 11 we found there were no towels, the sheets had not been changed, no loo paper, no cups, coffee and tea not replenished and someone's clothes on the chair in the bathroom!! We were changed to room 16 which was made up - apparently chamber maid had made up wrong room. Staff were friendly. Napkins on table at breakfast on first day were refolded previously used napkins grease and all. Very busy on Sunday at breakfast so waited ages and then had to eat it whilst the floor was mopped with disinfectant. The landlady was very surprised when I said something and glared at me every time she saw me until we left.The Black Bear needs a good clean - look behind your bathroom doors. Move all the dirty washing waiting to be taken from the landing. This could be an amazing place but needs some care and cleaning if not redecorating. Do not stay until this has been done!

Room Tip: Room 16 is over the bar where they have music/ entertainment so dont expect an early night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wareham hotels
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#10 of 23 in Wareham
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#12 of 23 in Wareham
26 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bear Hotel

Address: 14 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range: $49 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Black Bear Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Hotel is a family friendly grade 2 listed period coaching inn, with 14 en-suite rooms, bar restaurant, pool table, beer garden and a function room that can be used for any occasion, business or leisure. We have a varied home cooked menu including daily specials and child options, featuring locally sourced produce. We serve local and regional real ales and selection of wines well behaved dogs are welcome. We have live music most weekends. We as a family took over the Bear on the 8th October 2012 and have been busy refurbishing the rooms and generally giving the old place a facelift, but not losing its character in the process. So the new management team, Lyn, Allan, Beccie, Podge and Maz would like you to welcome you if you choose to come and stay with us. There are several beautiful beaches and interesting sights close by. Wareham is an old market town enclosed by the famous walls and hold many historical features. The boat trips from the quayside to Poole are very popular. We are also central to Dorchester, Poole, Weymouth, Swanage and Corfe Castle, to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Black Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel
The Black Bear Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing