We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of what you like!”
Review of Gurkha Bar - CLOSED

Gurkha Bar
Price range: $31 - $31
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A bit of what you like!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

As a family we have been here several times for birthdays and other special occasions. The food is always brilliant. Very clearly marked, and gives the ingredients too. You have such a huge variety, that you could stay all night trying everything. The breakfast buffet is good too. Not tried the sunday carvery yet, but judging by the high standards of the other meals, it will not disappoint. Bargain food that tickles the tastebuds!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slat4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    7
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We passed the restaurant on our way to Poole and saw the advert for an oriental buffet for £6.95. We decided to give it a go, boy, what a mistake that was, the waiter that greeted us was way over the top, even to the point he seemed desperate for business, he showed us to our table and asked us what we wanted to drink, 10 mins later he turned up with fizzy brown water even though we asked.for coke! We were told to help ourselves to the buffet, when we went up most of the dishes were empty, and the ones that were there were cold and dry. The ones we did have were cheap watered down rubbish. There were no desserts either, but maybe after the main courses that were there, it might have been a blessing in disguise. The kitchen area seemed messy and unkept, food in boxes all over, with no apparent respect for basic hygiene.

We will never be going there again. If you want cheap poor value rubbish, then this may be for you, but not our cup of tea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theresthomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great buffet and what great value”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

While holidaying in the area we spotted an advert for the Gurkha Bar so we decided to try it out.We being 4 adults and 1 child went on a Wednesday evening just as they opened at 6pm.
we found the staff friendly and the food was fantastic and what value at £9.95 each, The Lamb Curry is worth a special mention we could not leave it alone it was fantastic and what a taste it was so tender full of flavour - We will certainly be going back when we are next in the area and I will be telling all of my friends about this fantastic place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalsallStirlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unhygenic, overly friendly staff.”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had lunch yesterday - it was worrying. The front of house staff were friendly but in a weird way - they kept picking up my 2 year old daughter and did things like taking food off her plate with fingers, pretending to eat it and then putting it back on the plate. The food was not very hot although was better when a party came in and they started replenishing the food more quickly. It all done on the cheap - the pork ribs were stripped of virtually all meat before being dyed bright red and deep fried - it was like chewing on deep fried bones. The stripped pork meat was then used in a 'curry'. The thing that worried me most of all was the state of the toilet. My little girl is disabled and could not use the disabled toilet as it was a make-shift workroom; complete with vacuum cleaner, mops, paint pots, dirty rags, bags of cement etc. It was pretty grim - there was also a full bucket I believe that a place can be cheap and cheerful but still hygenic. And to top it all off my children and I have all had an upset stomach today. Not an experience I will be repeating.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenkeywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic evening”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Last night (26th feb2012) my husband and i went to the gurkha for a friends 50th birthday celebration and what a night we had, there were 28 of us we all arived at 6.30pm so as we could start eating early and keep eating all evening at our own pace what a feast we had as many trips as we could possible get in to the carvery, fantastic food and lovely staff and such good value. Thank you to every one at the gurkha.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Bar also viewed

Wareham, Dorset
Sandford, Wareham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing