We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more lovely food, great service, good value”
Review of The Saxon Carvery - CLOSED

The Saxon Carvery
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more lovely food, great service, good value”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Struggling to find somewhere to eat that were willing to serve 17 of us at around 4:00pm in the afternoon we stumbled on this place after driving by it. Wasn't sure what to expect but were made to feel really welcome immediately, were told they were just making the yorkshire puddings and there would be a wait. However served us drinks in the meantime and make sure we were comfortable. Well worth the wait the food was fresh. homemade and tasty. We all had the Sunday Roast, particularly liked the honey and mustard sausages, creamy mash and califlower cheese oh and the stuffing. We were only in Wareham for the day, next time I visit I will definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cracking Cavery”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Best Cavery, disliked nothing. have already booked to eat there again with friends. In a perfect world the room could be cooler, but i hear they are installing A/C for the summer

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and hospitality”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Having "over"visited all the cheap takeaway places in wareham I was pleased to find a place I could have a proper meal for a takeaway price !
The food was fantastic and the service was unbeatable.
Would recommend it to anyone

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a lovely meal with excellent customer service (which is hard to find in some places). I thought the meal was great value for money and will definitely go back to! Great range of meats and vegetables and choice of deserts! Well done to the owners!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab! ”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Our meal tonight was perfect. We were made so welcome by the owner and chef - good customer service is hard to find. These staff are obviously proud of their business and work. Carvery was great - apple crumble special was really good...to be recommended. We wish them all the best with this new venture and hope it supported by locals and visitors- wish we'd visited months ago!!

Helpful?
Thank Cornwallviow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saxon Carvery also viewed

 
Wareham, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing