We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sensational cottage for a lovely extended family...”
other travelers have booked this property
The perfect location any time of year!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The perfect location any time of year!
Dogs Welcome at Rose Cottage! Lulworth Cove showing Rose Cottage on the left hand side.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
The perfect location any time of year!
Dogs Welcome at Rose Cottage!
Lulworth Cove showing Rose Cottage on the left hand side.
Climb Bindon Hill high above the cottage for the best view of the Cove.   On top of the world!
This view of Lulworth Cove can be yours, only 5 minutes walk from Rose Cottage
Enjoy our secluded garden with sea and hill views all year but especially in the Spring.
Bindon Hill - fully fenced but with spectacular views,  makes an ideal place to walk the dog.
Rose Cottage lives up to its name in Summer glory!
The perfect  winter retreat!
Beautifully furnished Dining Room for that formal meal.  Seats 10.
Ensuite shower.
Storm in Lulworth Cove - 2 minutes walk!
and after the storm!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wareham, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mariaw396
Somerset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sensational cottage for a lovely extended family holiday.”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This cottage had everything we needed and more. Beautiful location and so well equipped. There was nine of us and two little dogs as well as other family members who visited us for the day.
Great facilities thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning location”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were a party of 9 with 2 dogs and all had a fantastic time. Absolutely fantastic location, so close to the cove and local pub!

Would definitely recommend and we can't wait to return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
Thank you so much for this. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Rose Cottage and very much look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
j_hancock...
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed at loc with 7 work colleagues for our Christmas do. Location is superb and yes it is an old rustic cottage it says that on the tin but great place to stay clean tidy and good amenities. Will definately be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burninbg fire kept the cottage nice and warm
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott F
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb location, great property, highly recommended!”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were met by our host Catriona as planned, who was a welcoming host.
Shown around the cottage, which is in a superb location. We found the cottage to be clean and tidy with everything you need. A lot of room as well, with 5 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms.
Great views from the garden at the back of the cottage!
Cant understand the previous reviews. If you are after a character cottage, in a wonderful location, with fantastic views, then this is the place for you.
We look forward to returning sometime in the future.
Thank you for a great stay!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah F
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing weekend break”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely characterful cottage. Some places with low headroom but you expect that in a cottage. Very well equipped with plenty of crockery etc. Very nice, helpful owner. Excellent venue for walking. We went as a group of friends celebrating a birthday & had a great weekend. We would go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character & location
Liked least: Staircase, but I am quite tall
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah T
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely Homely cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from a weeks stay in Rose Cottage and strongly disagree with the recent negative reviews. Our party consisted of 3 couples, 2 of which are in their 80's, and 2 Labradors.
Rose Cottage is a lovely old thatched cottage in a gorgeous location. We found the cottage very homely and immediately felt relaxed on arrival. The cottage and kitchen equipment were clean and tidy with plenty of plates etc to use. The 2 ensures bathrooms were new and had lovely showers, very much appreciated by the older generation! The ground floor bedroom and wet room was perfect for my father who is partially disabled. We did not have problems using any of the wardrobes even though a couple were slightly propped up which is common in an old listed cottage as anyone who has lived in one may be aware.
The back garden is on a slope and approached by stone steps but it is quite large, secluded, sheltered with table, chairs and a seat. The views from the garden are lovely and our dogs enjoyed exploring as much as we enjoyed relaxing in the sun there.
We would certainly stay again if visiting Lulworth in the future .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and appreciation of our cottage and its location. We hope future customers will be equally happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loucook20...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky cottage”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very old, quirky cottage in the heart of Lulworth Cove. On arrival we had to clear large spiders, clusters of baby spiders & webs from ceilings above the beds in all of the bedrooms & wash plates/ cups & cutlery before use as most were covered with a hard, thick coating of what looked like lumps/remains of a "chilli" meal residue. Wardrobe in bedroom with ensuite is basically propped up in the corner & practically unusable. Area around the bath in family bathroom is very moldy & uninviting. We were told on the Wednesday that the Chimney sweep was coming on the Thursday at midday for around an hour, wasn't happy at that as we had paid for our time there but luckily he rescheduled. No access to the shared swimming pool as advertised (which we found out a few days before our stay). Beautiful back garden with lovely views but not safe for young children or the elderly as very steep, stone steps to access it. After a bit of a clean we had a nice few days here. A lovely old cottage but really needs some TLC & a very good clean from top to bottom. Sorry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: cleanliness/condition of furniture
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2015
We have been mortified to read the last three reviews of our property, especially the last, which came after we had been in the cottage for several hours, cleaning and clearing the cobwebs which do accummulate very quickly at this time of year! We bought and installed a new light cluster in the kitchen before the last booking, which has made the kitchen much brighter and more cheerful. We have removed the offending pans and re-stocked wine glasses which had been badly depleted over the summer. We will be doing more fundemental kitchen improvements during the quieter winter months. We apologised in advance for the possibility of bringing in the chimney sweep and in the end were able to re-schedule this vital operation. We have already apologised for the swimming pool and had circulated all our guests as soon as possible after we discovered it had been closed early. As a result of recent reviews we have painted, cleaned and repaired. The garden was tidied as soon as the weather allowed. The cottage has been fully occupied from April and bookings continue right through to Christmas. We will continue to make improvements as best we can in an old cottage. We have found no evidence of resident mice! We always ask our guests to approach us direct if they have problems and complaints. It is so much better for everyone, to deal with problems immediately, rather than resort to these damaging reviews on-line. We would like to reassure our future guests that this is a private enterprise and it is not in our interests to disappoint our guests. Please remember the, sometimes twice weekly bookings, we have had all year, who have enjoyed the cottage and its spectacular surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing