We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Springfield Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Boro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Must say after reading comments wasn't sure what to expect. First impression OK, The receptionist was very helpful and friendly helping my sister with her case up the stairs (yes the lift is broken still). Resturant very dated but the food we couldn't fault,. Service was also excellent, but the hotel was only quarter full. Had a spa day, treatments were excellent and in nice clean rooms, (must point out treatments were nothing to do with hotel) however, the pool jacuzzi and changing rooms leave a lot to be desired. All needs upgrading. Swimming pool water was too cold to even contemplate. The hotel is set in very nice grounds with outdoor pool which was warmer than the indoor one. Definitely need a car if you stay here as some distrance from the town centre. Would stay at this hotel again but would not use spa unless a bit of tlc was given to it. For what we paid the hotel was good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleBoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    154
    108
    69
    67
See reviews for
117
202
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was near the lovely village of Wareham and the website glowed with the attributes of this hotel-however...don't go there if you are young and want a lively time! To be fair- the pool looked nice, though we didn't have time to use it. Our bedroom looked as though it hadn't been updated since 1970, and the pillows were very uncomfortable. The walls were thin and we could hear the people next door in the bathroom (!), they could probably hear us too. Ah- the bathroom-an unwelcoming place. The shower was adequate but there was nowhere to hang dressing gowns etc. The bedroom furniture looked as though it had been purchased from a charity shop-dark and gloomy. The much praised gardens were OK though certainly not as large and well laid out as the website leads one to believe. Oh, and the price- £90 per night, excluding breakfast-waaaay too much. On the plus side, the bedroom was very quiet and if the beds had been more comfortable we may have slept better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flottyIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I have returned from more than a week's stay at the Springfield with a big team of people. We were working long hours at a nearby music festival, enduring appalling weather, endlessly changing our bookings, always dropping into reception to ask for mad favours, arriving very late (and very muddy!) - frankly we must have been the guests from hell. The staff at the Springfield were without exception charming, helpful, full of initiative and very willing to go the extra mile. The bar staff were delightful, the breakfasts were freshly prepared using local ingredients, the rooms were really good sizes (the showers were a bit weedy but we were exceptionally muddy!) and the beds extremely comfortable. The Springfield doesn't pretend to be a luxury hotel and it is a tad pricey but reasonable for high season in a prime tourist area. But it's the staff who make it special and I personally disagree 100% with previous reviewers (who must have been staying at the same time as we were) in their assessment of the manager. Good leadership comes from the top and The Springfield should be really proud of what they do.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We arrived and we were shown to our rooms. They were disgusiting. They still hadnt been cleaned from the previous occupants. This place should be shut down. I wouldnt even let my dog stay there. We rufused to stay. I asked for a refund. But was told by the manager we would be billed anyway. We stayed at a near by hotel instead and when we arrived home we discovered not only had we been charged for the room we had also been charged for breakfast. On a plus side the girl on reception was very friendly. Its a shame the same cant be said for the jobsworth stuck up manager

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerios82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wareham hotels

London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed for one night. The room was OK plenty of room. It was quite amusing that the carpets, curtains and bed spreads did not match ! The shower was large and quite powerful although the water could have been hotter. The "Spa" facilities left a lot to be desired. Very old and tired. The sauna and steam room were ok. Too many children in the pool for my liking and they were not well behaved which spoilt our visit. The jucuzzi was ok but again a little dated. The spa brochure in the rooms made it sound very relaxing and luxurious but I would not have liked to have spent a spa day there - it did not have the relaxed, chilled out feeling you need for a spa. Breakfast was very nice. id be happy to stay again but wouldnt rush to recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

It was with some trepidation that we arrived at the Springfield for a week's all-inclusive stay. We had booked and paid a deposit before reading the extremely negative trip advisor reviews and it was too late to look elsewhere in the area. Where do I start? Extremely friendly and helpful staff at reception and in the restaurant. A good-sized room (Grange executive) that was spotlessly clean, as was the en-suite. Fresh towels daily and they were not old and faded. My wife used the indoor pool and jacuzzi each evening and had no reason to complain at all. Breakfast was not swimming in grease as reported and the orange and grapefruit juice tasted just fine. The evening menu was sufficiently extensive and the food was excellent. We are quite happy to complain if the need arises, but could not fault this hotel or it's staff. One evening in the restaurant I had to request a steak knife and one morning my paper arrived although I'd cancelled it -it was immediately taken of our bill. These were the only two 'problems' we encountered. Ok, so the decor is a bit dated, but it's comfortable and fits nicely with a mid-price country hotel. There are more modern hotels in the area and their prices are a lot more than the Springfield. We would stay here again, which must be the best recommendation there is.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ade34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I booked a night for a wedding a month in advance. I gave my credit card details to reserve the room, as is the norm. However they charged the full amount. Apparently this is the normal procedure for the hotel. I cancelled and got a refund. Ridiculous.

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
Thank Raify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
3.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
15.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Country Hotel

Property: Springfield Country Hotel
Address: Grange Road, Wareham BH20 5AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Springfield Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Country Wareham
Springfield Country Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing