We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and lacking in atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Springfield Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Reviewed April 18, 2013

For £128 (without breakfast), mid-week in low season, this hotel is seriously overpriced and characterless. For half that price it would be bearable. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable but not special and the staff were okay. The Wi-Fi was weak, the shower was a pathetic dribble and the walls thin. I have to be in the area every now and again but at that price I will be looking elsewhere

Room Tip: Are there any? Ask about wifi?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Braveheart1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 572 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed 1 night whilst on a business trip to Dorset, as members of staff from my company had used the hotel in the past, we managed to get a discounted rate. The room was clean and comfortable. The food served during the evening was very good and good value for money, the house red wine is highly recommended, and a fair price. Breakfast was very good, the only minor issue was the fact that the breakfast arrived before I had finished my cereals and was just left on the side of the table to go cold.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 3 days over the Easter weekend.Room was fine, new TV with Freeview channels. Was told on arrival that if Sky Sports 1 or 2 was on in the bar it could be viewed in ones room Not so!
Staff were excellent with nothing too much trouble. Food was good & plentiful with a choice of snacks or mains available in the bar or restaurant but surprisingly no tab of the order was shown at the end of the meals which I found odd.
Wi Fi should have been working throughout the hotel but it was only intermittent in our room & to view I had to go downstairs to the comfortable lounge-one of the two lifts was working however.
Worst part was on check out when I was given the bill I was overcharged for 2 of the 3 nights (£100 in all). Told it was a 'computer error' but I have my reservations!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOALS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Springfield last year as a birthday treat for my partner. It was really nice. Our room overlooked the lovely and spacious garden and countryside. Beds were very comfortable and it was all in proximity of beautiful Swanage and Durdle Door. I highly recommend it. Good value and fabulous breakfast. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here when I was attending a wedding nearby. Although the rooms are very spacious and the grounds are well kept the interior needs a serious revamp and I expected better food (evening meal and breakfast) for the price. The pool doesn't look like the picture (at least it didnt whilst we were there!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have hosted a photography workshop here many times. The staff are helpful and friendly, the rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. The food very good with excellent bar service.
Having use of the meeting room to teach in is a definite asset for us. And as the clients were up early at 5am a bonus to wander around the attractive garden to chill out midday. The spa facilities were fun and relaxing to use especially as they were not crowded, and the location right next to the Jurassic coastline supurb. Thanks guys for your support, we will be back! Wendy

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 27Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Been meaning to write a review for some time but just never got round to it. I thought this place was great! Like with any place, I'm sure there are small things that need tweaking but as a whole I would definitely go back, in fact, me and my partner have been there twice already. The staff have always been very nice and extremely helpful. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
3.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
973 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
394 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
478 reviews
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
13.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Country Hotel

Address: Grange Road, Wareham BH20 5AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: $167 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Springfield Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Country Wareham
Springfield Country Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing