We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Enjoyable Lunch.”
Review of The Quay Inn

The Quay Inn
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Most Enjoyable Lunch.”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from The Quay Inn having thoroughly enjoyed a Groupon meal which was given to us as a gift. The service we received and the standard of the food were both excellent especially the wonderful crab and lobster bisque starter which was a meal in itself. We have passed this Inn many times before and have not gone in as it isn't that inviting from the outside BUT having now experienced what lies within we'll certainly be going there again when we are next in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    135
    36
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Not the best in Town”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We visited for drinks only so cannot comment on the food.
The bar staff were all standing around chatting! one of the locals had to point out we were waiting! We ordered our drinks and sat down near the fire which was on so that was good. The place itself was not very clean, in fact in places it was very messy.
There was no real atmosphere in the place and the staff were certainly neither attentive or particularly friendly. The boss/manager arrived and stood behind the bar shouting out about wages and shifts. Didn't actually serve anyone.
We didn't visit again whilst we were staying in Wareham.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOJONO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and good service”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a sharing platter for starters which was very very different and most enjoyable. I followed with the duck which was cooked perfectly and had a lovely jus which, although very tasty, did not overpower the duck. My husband had the fish and chips with a coriander tempura which was light, crisp and all hand cooked to perfection. The staff were friendly yet not too obtrusive in their service, great!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

good presentation, friendly staff, excellent food and good value for money, there's a car park right out side but do get a ticket as there are parking wardens in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wooly0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Have the burger!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We didn't fancy much for lunch then we saw the burgers, they are hand made quarter pounders and are devine, the chips were great too all served on a long wooden platter. We were served fairly promptly ( 25 minute wait) but it was worth it. Good selection of ciders and helpful cheerful staff particularly the chef 'Biggles' will return and probably have exactly the same as it was yummy but go hungry the portions are vast! We sat outside overlooking the river, lovely.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickinooFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quay Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing