We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have dined and stayed at this hotel many times and are drawn back time and time again by the sheer class and elegance of this fine period hotel in such wonderful, well- maintained gardens stretching down to the river. The service, food and accomodation is of the highest standard whilst allowing a relaxing experience. During the summer, the unhurried luncheon is served on the terrace and the tables are set with linen, fine china and glasses, all spotlessly clean. Whilst keeping up with modern trends, the hotel's decor is at one with the surroundings and furnished accordingly. From the moment you drive through the gates at The Priory you will feel as if you have stepped into a different world where your every wish is catered for. Enjoy a walk around the grounds with its lake, rose garden and croquet lawn. (The main shrubs and trees are labelled). Savour your beautifully cooked food whilst soaking in the view across the lawn to the river. Rest awhile in a deckchair while the experienced, polite and pleasent staff wait on you You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovesweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    54
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
51
199
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Last saturday I enjoyed a fabulous dinner in the restaurant of this hotel.

Quite simply a brilliant meal in fabulous surroundings.

Three courses for £45 including coffee was good value for the quality and portion size.

I can't believe I have lived here three years (in Poole) and never come across it - but maybe that is the charm of the place.

Would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lovely location, nice mini suite in the main house with very large and luxurious bathroom, delicious dinner and excellent breakfast. But in our 2 night stay we found a few things a little untoward. Firstly making up a room while guests are at breakfast is, in our book, a definite no no for a hotel. It smacks of self interest and convenience for the hotel staff. This is only the second time this has ever happened in all our years of travel and we regard it as an invasion of privacy. Dropping the clean linen off outside rooms while using creaking stairs and floorboards when guests may still be asleep is also inconsiderate. Our sleep was also disturbed by the laughter and loud voices of a group enjoying after-dinner drinks in the lounge below our room. The staff could perhaps have asked them to be a little quieter after 11pm. We found the restaurant staff very good but the hotel staff seemed to be more functional than friendly and simply going through the motions. When paying the not insubstantial bill I was not impressed to see a man still putting on his tie appear before me and mutter a good morning. For all I know he may have even been the manager but neither he nor the person handling our bill enquired as to whether we had enjoyed our stay. Thank you it was very good apart from the aforementioned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenzburg
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Priory Hotel is located in a gorgeous place near the waterfront with a very nice park. It is a small historic site with wonderful rooms. Service was charming and very responsive. The site is very quiet, as it lies in a fair distance from the traffic road.
Dinner at the restaurant was a special experience with excellent food and also perfect service.
This is a place to return soon and spend more than just one day.

Room Tip: We had a nice and quiet room. As I don't know the other rooms. I am unable to make a meaningful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were invited to special party at lunch time on a Sunday and the party consisted of about 30 of us. The meal was first class, we eat in the basement which meant that the area was just for our group. The meal and service was first class, could not fault it, the only problem is access to the basement for anyone who has difficulty walking. The Priory does not have anything in place to help, so it is down to the party who have booked to sort it. I know the building was there before concerns for access for people with walking difficulties came in, but I would have thought the owners would have something in place.

Room Tip: Did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justvisiting58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Superior room 3, 360 for a night inclusive of excellent dinner and breakfast for two. Slightly stuffy at first but nothing too much trouble, maybe the best old world small country hotel I have ever visited! Impress a traditional friend or older relation, leave the kids at home though. The gardens and river frontage stunning and charming.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gedders66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This Hotel hits all the spots , if your fed up with glitz , and bling , settle in here and you will be totally pampered and relaxed , just like being at home.I adore this place and its superb gardens , its location and staff are beyond description, superb does not do it justice !

Room Tip: all rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
3.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
7.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
24.3 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: Church Green, Wareham BH20 4ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Wareham
The Priory Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing