We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic gardens”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This feels like home (unfortunately, not my home). Quiet, comfortable and established...The gardens are lovely and if the weather had been better it would have been nice to have a drink and gaze at the river. Bedroom comfortable, bathroom small but adequate. Food and service knowledgable and well prepared - no complaints. A good place to stay for a night or too...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aynne39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 383 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fantastic stay here for business...expensive but excellent value for money - stunning spacious suite with enormous bathroom - easily get 6 of you in the room lenght shower :), massive old copper jacuzzi bath, wonderful lounges and communial areas - breakfast in the sun on the terrace with the roses and ducks was a treat! Friendly attentive staff that called me by name throughout my stay, beautiful gardens and strolls along the river. Yes, at 30 i was probably the youngest guest by about 35 years, but if you're looking for a somewhere as a special treat this is it - fantastic.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are small and suffer from 'coming and going' noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tetchy186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel must be rated among the best England can produce. It is not cheap but then the best will never be.
Where does one start, set in an ancient town in Dorset ,next to the parish church, it is quintessentially English.
An ancient Nunnery or Priory, has been adapted into a wonderful hotel.
However buildings are one thing, and it is the staff who put the finishing touches to a glorious vacation, or possibly a working stay, Wi fi is free.
I cannot praise this hotel enough,having stayed in the worlds best, I can say this deserves to be up there, just do not expect the delights of 24/7 food and drinks, casinos lifts etc. just good old fashioned English hospitality.
I can honestly say I have never stayed in better

Stayed: May 2013
4  Thank exfarmersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Took my Husband here for his birthday weekend. We arrived on Sunday and had pre-booked lunch, booking is definitely essential. The food was first class and the wine list is extensive and very informatively presented. We then went to our boathouse suite, wow. Right on the river with its own patio to sit and enjoy the sunshine. One suggestion I would make is that perhaps the hotel could add some planters to divide the terraces and offer a little more privacy. As we had eaten so well at lunch time we had room service in the evening, the sandwiches were delicious, roast beef and smoked salmon. The next day after a delicious full English breakfast with quality products we took a boat out on the river. We dined at the hotel that evening and everything was fresh and wonderfully cooked and presented. thank you for a great weekend, we will be back.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jessamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the beginning of April to celebrate our Silver Wedding.

Our room, we were informed, had recently been refurbished. It was cosy and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was quite small but adequate and with a large shelf on which to place toiletries and cosmetics.

We dined in the restaurant each evening. The food generally was, in our opinion, of an excellent standard, but with an occasional lapse to a lower standard. The dining room was in the cellar and although pleasant, we felt it would have been nicer to eat in the breakfast room which was on the ground floor and overlooked the river.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great room, great food, somewhere for my friends to keep boats too. Really good quality food and very smart gardens. What stops it being 5 stars? A couple of snappy staff who were not polite to other guests left a Minor negative. No need for being snotty - we are all familiar with 5 star hotels and have probably stayed in more than you, so ease back on the attitude please. All guests are worth treasuring. But core product is lovely and we had a lovely time with lovely people soon complaints here

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodFood-Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I dined at The Priory this Sunday for a special celebratory lunch. Fantastic. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, the views stunning and the food out of this world. This was our first visit and we found the pricing to be extremely reasonable and competitive. We now know we don't have to wait for another special occassion to dine at The Priory!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
3.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
964 reviews
1.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
5.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
7.5 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
473 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: Church Green, Wareham BH20 4ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: $291 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Wareham
The Priory Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing