We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Red Lion Hotel Restarurant
Ranked #26 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Ate at the Red Lion this evening and was pleasantly surprised how good the meal was. Have visited Wareham on a number of occasions and but never eaten here until now. We found the staff were friendly and welcoming. The food arrived quickly after ordering and was very tasty, good quality and reasonably priced for the area. I had the Thai chicken curry and my partner went for fish and chips. Only slight criticism was the lighting in the bar was too low and quite gloomy. However that aside would highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123Susie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at Red Lion Hotel Restarurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at The Red Lion. I am sorry if the lighting wasn't to your taste. Believe it or not we also get criticism that it is too bright and not cosy enough! A difficult balance to please eveyones taste!

Thanks again, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    47
    21
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good food! Thoroughly recommended!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've just got back from working away in Dorset and I dined out on both of my nights away at The Red Lion Hotel (I went back a 2nd time, on the 2nd consecutive night, as my first meal here had been so enjoyable!). I felt moved to post on here as I'd had low expectations of finding decent food out & about (we're big 'foodies' in my house and my boyfriend is a former chef & a very able & active cook at home, which means our standards are high!) The Red Lion far from disappointed though & I just know that I'll be back!

I thoroughly enjoyed my delicious vegetarian Wellington main course, with new potatoes and a sort of ratatouille veg, and the home-made Black Forest Gateau with boozey cherries was a real triumph - all of which was clearly made with love and beautifully presented on the plate. On the 2nd night I had the brie & artichoke tart with a lovely sunblush tomato salad &, again, some fab new potatoes. Really good stuff & hats off to the kitchen staff who are clearly putting their hearts & souls into the food that they are preparing & serving.

I feel certain that I'll be back & one day . . . & I may even take the ex-chef boyfriend at some point (whose appetite I've whetted with my rave reviews!) Top marks Red Lion Team!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at Red Lion Hotel Restarurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review! Its always nice to get some appreciation! We hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“breakfast”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

good range to choose from, breakfast cereals, yogurts all great quality but perhaps best of all the eggs were free range

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grahame M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Efficient, friendly service. The best chips ever. My husband had beef on winter vegetables,delicious tender beef and lovely horseradish mash. Could not fault service or food.Even when grandmother set off fire alarms took it all in their stride!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Sunday lunch roast beef,individual Yorkshire pud enough to feed four, great veg. Huge portions. Suggest you go for the smaller plate unless you're ravenous! Lovely food

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gazania186266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Hotel Restarurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Lion Hotel Restarurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing