We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for tiny portions”
Review of The Halfway Inn

The Halfway Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Halfway Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 62 Restaurants in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: British, Brew Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
dorset
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Expensive for tiny portions”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wonderful log fire but expensive and very small portions, even for small eaters like us - we sent my husband's fish back on our last visit as we assumed [wrongly] that he had been given a starter and altho' they did give him some extra, we were unimpressed. Sunday lunches, which we have sometimes had in the past, are also very sparing with the meat.
Sadly we have stopped visiting the Halfway.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsmidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    180
    78
    38
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Gang dinner on weekend jaunt”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Excellent dinner for 7 of us. Chicken & Ham pie classic, hot, stuffed and proper pastry. Sticky toffee pud a winner! Helpful staff and clean with a great ambience and atmosphere - recommend it. Book though to avoid disappointment. Chez gives it the thumbs up!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive and poor service.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stopped off for a drink at about 2.30 after a Sunday walk in the Purbecks.
£11.45 for a pint of local beer, a small white wine spritzer and a couple of bags of crisps! I've never paid so much outside London.
Had planned to have a bite to eat too but the tables around us had waited, and were still waiting so long we didn't bother.
It wasn't particularly busy either. They had reserved on all the tables in an entire adjoining room to effectively stop it being used and to keep people around the main bar area.
No idea what the food is like, maybe if we had more money and much more patience we would have found out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely staff.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I went to the Halfway Inn last night (Saturday). After reading reviews on TA we decided to give it a go and so glad we did. The menu was comprehensive and they catered well for my gluten free requirements along with other allergy requirements.
The staff were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was delicious and good value for money. We will definitely return next time we are visiting Swanage.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lou m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evening meal”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Myself and my husband along with my sister had a meal and all we can say was everything about the meal was superb.My husband had steak and trimmings,My sister and I had the steak and tanglefoot pie with trimmings and we would recommend The Halfway Inn to all for a meal.The staff were spot on was the service all round,and the atmosphere was so comfortable and relaxed.ONE OR THE BEST MEALS WE HAVE HAD.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Halfway Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Halfway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing