We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took me back to my youth”
Review of The Rex Cinema

The Rex Cinema
Ranked #1 of 2 Fun & Games in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The REX is an art-deco gem of a small town cinema from the 1920's. 130 Seats with digital projection and sound but with a period ambience. The REX is owned by the Purbeck Film Charitable Trust and run by a team of enthusiastic and knowledgeable volunteers. The REX shows everything from art-house to blockbusters and is the main hub of the renowned annual Purbeck Film Festival, the largest rural film festival in the United Kingdom.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Took me back to my youth”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had my first visit here recently and absolutely loved it. This lovely little cinema has friendly helpful staff, comfy seats with heaps of legroom and a real charm. Midweek evening and it was packed out. You can take alcohol into the cinema and in proper glasses -the prices are very reasonable and I will definitely be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_lu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    25
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A lovely old cinema, so friendly which makes a change from the big multiscreen palaces about these days which reek of popcorn and chips. We wouldn't go anywhere else to see a film.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrssilversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little cinema”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This small independent cinema has some 140 seats and shows the latest films at high quality picture and sound, thanks to its digital installation. The showings are generally at 7.00 pm (best check this) except on a Tuesday when the programme starts at 6.00 - very useful for early-nighters and to visit the excellent fish and chip shop across the road afterwards. Current prices are £6.50 with concessions and children at £5.00. In the school holidays there are frequent afternoon matinees with films for youngsters.
The Cinema has a bar so you can take drinks to your seat. Purbeck ice cream available too.
It's also the home of the Purbeck Film Festival in October when it shows a different notable film each night.
There are stairs up to the cinema but there's a stair-lift at the back by the toilets.
Very friendly informal management. This is my local cinemea and we go quite often.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic old cinema!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We are regular vistors here and we absolutely love the history of the place, old lighting and cosy seating makes for a very romantic evening. highly recommended

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martinedmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cinema”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is my local cinema, it is independently run by volunteers. The seats are comfy, plenty of leg room and you can take your drink in with you to watch the film. Friendly staff and reasonably priced. Why go anywhere else.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rex Cinema also viewed

 

Been to The Rex Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing