We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly outstanding!”

The silent Woman Inn
Ranked #23 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were treated really rudely twice in nearby busy Corfe Castle whilst trying to get lunch where they have a guaranteed clientele. How simply fabulous then, to drive away only to find this wonderful English inn. We were warmly greeted & although the kitchen was about to close, we were made to feel that there was no hurry & indeed, the host was attentive & kind. I spent far to much money here & am I glad I did! Ten out of ten for wonderful local venison & the house wine was to die for! To sit there next to the crackling log fire with that wine was the best end to a weekend I have had for a long time. I could not recommend this place enough. There are no children allowed (Hooray!!) but dogs are welcome. If you have kids then I'm sorry. It's about time we claimed places like this back for ourselves. My goodness, we shall be going back there soon. Outstanding... a truly outstanding experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xanthe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    83
    27
    17
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We phoned to make certain there was no function on, as last time we dropped past on a Friday the Inn was closed to prepare for a wedding.
On arrival the grounds look very smart and well tended. Inside we were shown to a table near the open log fire which was much appreciated. There was a specials board with good choice, but we went for venison casserole from the main meal menu. This came with a choice of potatoes, we had Tarragon potatoes... sauted with onion & tarragon; the veg was stir fried...sugar peas, red cabbage, carrot, courgette, onion... nice and crisp. For drinks we had mulled wine /Tanglefoot real ale. The mulled wine was the best this season, ale well looked after.
Service was friendly and prompt. The meal was excellent, venison in a thick sauce. toilets were clean. Bill came to @ £40. Nice situation in the Wareham wood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely pub but no children allowed inside.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very disappointed as we turned up thinking we had found a lovely pub with a good menu, only to be told we could stay as children not allowed. A quiet night mid week, a chance of £40-£50 in the till, glad they could afford to turn our custom down.

My son is nearly 11 and was not about to run riot or upset anyone!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AvonlineLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A excellent meal, & a friendly welcome near Wareham Forest”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you want a really good meal and a friendly welcome from all the staff try The Silent Woman at Cold Harbour near Wareham.The menu is excellent - wines,drinks, beers and ales all good and if you are a dog owner you can eat in the bar area with your dog who will also get a really friendly welcome. Such a treat after a walk on a cold crispy winter morning to have lunch here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorsetBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Steak with garlic potatoes, salad and mushrooms.
Steak fresh, locally sourced. No waste and cooked to perfection.
Salad fresh and crisp. Garlic potatoes out of this world.

Warm relaxing environment, friendly and welcoming staff.

Being a wheelchair user it was nice to be able to relax and enjoy a good meal.

Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The silent Woman Inn also viewed

 

Been to The silent Woman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing