We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Granary

The Old Granary
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Granary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We thought should make the most of the good weather, so off to Wareham we went. As we have eaten in a few Hall & Woodhouse we know that the food is always great. I have a gluten intolerance so eating out for me can be a problem, not here, I'll have the burger with out the bun thank you, and it was lovely, the other half had the Poisson and chips which he devoured.
The staff were helpful and friendly, even though they were really busy with a large party.
Location was great, it was nice to sit up on the terrace, and watch the boats go pass.
Would recommend to my friends and family.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    237
    123
    54
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not like it used to be.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have visited this restaurant many times over the years and have always had a good time.

On this recent occasion I thought that the service was poor and the staff were not welcoming at all like they didn't want to be there!.

A great location but that doesn't override everything.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Other at The Old Granary, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in expressing your feelings about your experience with us. Im sure your aware at how useful this information is to us for acheving our aims/ maintaining expectations. This review concerns us, please refer to your private messages where we would like to continue to investigate, so we can pass more detailed feedback to the team.
Again thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Old Granary, its hugely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice family Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is quite a nice restaurant in a very lovely setting along side the river. As we were a large party we were given an excellent seat by the window. The service was very good and very attentive. The food was good and also hot. Toilets were clean and tidy (always a good thing).
Very noisy restaurant, found it difficult to concentrate on a conversation and would not have liked being further back. Puddings very good although a pricer than most. Total bill not to bad for this kind of place (a chain but slightly upmarket version). Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dollygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely relaxing lunch on Bank Holiday Monday. The food was excellent and service very good. Great value and lovely location.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great location disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had chicken and mushroom pie and the most expensive steak. The service was quite slow and the food was very disappointing. The chips were not made with real potato and were almost hollow and not very crisp. The steak was not very full of flavour nor very tender, though it was 'well cooked' as opposed to rare.
The pie had a good looking puff pastry but there was little chicken inside with a large proportion being peas. I am not a complaining person generally but on this occasion, my first writing on Trip Advisor, I felt the strong need to "advise" the Old Granary before their sales start to drop! I hope my comments will help the establishment review its menu. For my next visit to Wareham, I don't live far away, I hope I will see big improvements. I feel the menu is well hyped, meaning it looks better than it really is. Value for money is poor today, 23rd May 2014. I hope this review will be recognised by its bite and that customers stopping in for one will get better food in future!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellinggarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex W, Other at The Old Granary, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for you time in taking to review your experience, we’re disappointed to hear about your recent experience at the Old Granary. We strive to produce excellent quality food and pride ourselves on the hospitality we provide. We’re therefore embarrassed that your recent experience was not a good one. Unfortunately after our new menu launch few weeks ago we went through some teething problems which included the spec of the chicken pie too. However this issue was already rectified. Your comments have been passed down to the team, and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies and we hope you give us another chance to arouse your expectations in order to show that this is not what you should expect from us at The Old Granary. Again thank you for expressing your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Granary also viewed

 

Been to The Old Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing