We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice for Wareham!”
Review of The Old Granary

The Old Granary
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Granary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best choice for Wareham!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I go to The Old Granary at least once a month and they never let me down. They are brilliant with kids, have a lovely changing area and you can easily feed a baby without feeling frowned upon. Having said that it's still a place for grown-ups and you can have a nice quiet relaxed meal here with lovely views out over the river and the Purbeck hills.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kestrelsmith14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    262
    131
    57
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth the money but more of a special occasion.”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

we vist each time we go down to our holiday home. Its a bit expensive but always lovely. Staff are always pleasant and the actual place has a nice ambiance, and atmostphere. Can sit outside in the summer and watch the boats come in and moor at the quay. Brunch with a coffee sat morning was nice too as a one off and Sunday lunch good too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top food!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Super location by the river, with lovely food and nice atmosphere. We visited on a Tuesday evening in November and yet this restaurant was still quite busy. The food was not cheap but it was very good value. Really nice decor and atmosphere. There are several small rooms to eat in so you don't feel overwhelmed by lots of people. I can recommend the fish and chips and the Purbeck ice cream!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HamsterNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was beautifully presented and tasted fantastic. The service was great with friendly attentive staff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A great night”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went to The Old Granary as a group of 8 men recently and had a great night.
There was a wedding on in the main restaurant so we were allocated a separate '"private" dining room which was great for us as we do tend to be quite boisterous.
The food was very good although they had sold out of their signature dish, Stargazy Pie, which some of us wanted, but everything else was fine.
What made the evening even better was the fabulous staff that looked after us especially our main waitress Olivia, but the other girls were all fantastic as well. We are 8 married men, all over 60 and could probably say we have seen it all and done it all, so for an 18 year old girl, looking after us could have been a daunting task. But not for Olivia who memorised our names instantly and handled us brilliantly as well as being a super efficient waitress. We all wish her success in the future as she is a wonderful character and it is no exaggeration to say that she really added something special to our evening.
Would not hesitate to return if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Choofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Granary also viewed

 

Been to The Old Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing