We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night”
Review of The Old Granary

The Old Granary
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Granary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Wareham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A great night”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went to The Old Granary as a group of 8 men recently and had a great night.
There was a wedding on in the main restaurant so we were allocated a separate '"private" dining room which was great for us as we do tend to be quite boisterous.
The food was very good although they had sold out of their signature dish, Stargazy Pie, which some of us wanted, but everything else was fine.
What made the evening even better was the fabulous staff that looked after us especially our main waitress Olivia, but the other girls were all fantastic as well. We are 8 married men, all over 60 and could probably say we have seen it all and done it all, so for an 18 year old girl, looking after us could have been a daunting task. But not for Olivia who memorised our names instantly and handled us brilliantly as well as being a super efficient waitress. We all wish her success in the future as she is a wonderful character and it is no exaggeration to say that she really added something special to our evening.
Would not hesitate to return if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Choofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    250
    129
    56
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely views and nice food in historic port”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Looking over the river at Wareham (ancient port between England and France), this lovely restaurant serves interesting food by friendly staff. Definitely try the platters which are hearty and tasty. On a warm evening or afternoon try the balcony terrace.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claude K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I liked the place but.......”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Booked the Granary for a friends mid week birthday dinner. I was disappointed. Firstly the service was very good, very attentive. The place has a warm charm about it and is in a lovely setting. We all ordered 3 courses. Portions are huge - and if you order a pie you had better be hungry! However I felt the food lacked taste and quality. I ordered the venison shank pie for my main. Venison has a very gamey flavour - not this one. It was tender but it could have been any slow cooked meat, it did not taste of venison. My partner ordered the chicken and ham hock pie again huge portion but he commented it was ok nothing special. Puddings were dissapointing too. We ordered the sticky toffee pudding - the sponge part of the pudding was plain, no dates or sultanas - no stickiness! Toffee sauce was nice. My partner said the treacle tart tasted like ginger bread!? We bought 2 bottles of wine with our meal and for the overall cost of the evening we found it expensive. Not sure if I would return - shame as its nice place but felt the food lacked the price tag.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finchampstead, Berks
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great service, lovely views!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I visit The Old Granary several times a year with my family (wife and children). We love the views out to the river, sitting for hours enjoying freshly cooked food and seeing the odd fish get caught by the fishermen on the bank opposite. The restaurant do a good childrens menu with good choice.
Overall the bill is not the lowest but you get a fantastic meal and experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overall a good meal”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Lovely location next to river frome and tasteful clean interior. Think it must be Hall and Woodhouse's premier pub/restaurant as not many of their pubs are as well presented as this place. Food was lovely with a couple of traditional dishes and also more unusual offerings. All food arrived promptly and waitress was attentive although seemed very stroppy which did prompt us to reduce her tip - so her loss really. The food was fairly pricey as slightly upmarket establishment. Definitely worth a visit and ideal for a special occasion i would imagine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fhjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Granary also viewed

 

Been to The Old Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing