We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Quay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wareham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Quay Inn
Ranked #7 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Good Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in the Priory Hotel round the corner (review to follow) but not wishing to spend mega bucks on a day time session, we popped into the Quay Inn for lunch. Friendly pub where you can take your dog, and busy even on a Monday afternoon. Decent menu with dishes like chefs beef strogonoff, loin of cod and chips, steaks and sharing platters, and a reasonable selection of ales. Had cayenne pepper chicken wings and cheesey chips, and partner had ham sandwiches and chips. Food was well cooked, well proportioned and cheap, with comfortable chairs and sofas by the fire. Decor looked fine to us, and staff showed us round one of the rooms, which looked pretty reasonable for £70-00 a night. Will consider for a re-visit when we return to Bovington Tank Museum ( also see review). A good afternoon in a boozer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WINGSANDKAREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    47
    7
    11
    5
See reviews for
36
59
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I were looking forward to staying here for the night after visiting the pub 3 months earlier, we expected to stay above the premises but were surprised to be taken next door and were immediately a little depressed by the condition of the staircase, carpet worn and paint peeling on the walls. First impression of the room (room 2) was ok but this soon changed when we showered, the shower itself was adequate but the cubicle left alot to be desired with excessive mould build-up around the tiles, after showering I went to shave to find the shaver light above the sink wasn't working. On the plus side we found the bed to be quite comfortable although a little large for the room but don't expect to lie in if you stay on a Friday night as the market stall holders set up around 5am. The tea and coffee making facilities were good and the breakfast ok but owners take note we would have preferred to share a cafetaire and not be given a cup of coffee only three quarters full, you can however ask for a second cup, we would also prefer our toast seperately on a plate or rack. When the time came to pay the bill I expressed my concerns regarding the state of the shower but this was met with surprise???? and indifference, definately not worth £70 per night.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have thought long and hard about writing this review. At the end of the day, this is a pub which has a few rooms in an adjoining annex - but it markets itself as having "Luxury Ensuite accomodation". Unfortunately, it's not Luxury; more of a middle of the road B&B. I will stick to the facts though as I've never written a poor review before and am aware that these things are often very subjective, but this feedback is given in good faith and aimed to help the owners maybe make a few easy improvements, which is all this place needs - as it's in a superb location.

The rooms are above the neighbouring Ice cream parlour. We were shown initially to room 1. The stairs to the rooms are steep and narrow. The cream carpet is worn through in places and the paint is peeling off the walls in many places - a quick change to a dark carpet and a coat of paint would vastly improve first impressions.

We were let into room one, but very quickly realised that someone was already staying in the room. After a few minutes we went back down to the bar where they realised their mistake and showed us into room 3. Room 1 though has a large double bed AND bunk beds all squeezed in to what is a quite a small room. I was pleased we weren't staying in that room (and the sink has a large crack in the bathroom).

Room 3 was better - two twin beds put together to form a king sized bed. My single was very creaky and the bed will definintely need replacement in the next few months. Again, paint peeling off the walls - particularly around the windows - nothing a coat of paint wouldn't sort out. The bathroom has a problem with mildew on the grout which makes it look dirty - it wasn't, but it just doesn't give a good impression. Shower was OK. Towels were tiny - I'm a normal size 14 and it wouldn't even wrap around me - please treat your guests to a bath sheet rather than a small towel.

The room would also really benefit from at least 1 bedside light. When getting up to go to the bathroom/or to read - you have no choice but to have a very bright main room light on. More than adequate tea and coffee making facilities though.

We didn't really visit the pub itself on the Friday night - as it was packed with people all listening to the live rock band. It would have been customary to advise anyone booking/staying in the rooms about the very loud live music - and therefore all the people hanging about outside the window below. The band were very good - but we didn't go to a quiet B&B in a stunning location to listen to a rock band.

Saturday morning is market day - so no parking outside the pub and they do set up very early. Don't expect a lie in! Fortunately, we are early risers so this wasn't a major problem to us. We went down for breakfast and another couple were there too. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff worked really hard to prepare that and make sure we had everything we needed.

All in all, as a basic B&B goes - it was OK. Calling it "luxury" is a definite misrepresentation though. I left feeling a little dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
436 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Quay Inn is very attractive and has a great location overlooking the river at the bottom of the main street of the town. It is an old-world traditional inn, and now offers an varied 'pub grub' menu. The letting rooms are in an annext next door and share the same great view over the quay and river.
The poub is busy and cheerful and offers a good range of beers and quite a few different - and traditional - ciders.
We had a family room with a super-king bed and two bunk beds. The beds took up nearly all the space in the room, so it was pretty cramped. It would have been a real challenge for a family of four. Bathroom was small but functional. The shower was a bit weak, and the sink had a large crack - although not leaking. the room was pretty clean; the bed linen (duvet) clean and fresh; and the towels OK. Bearkfast was good traditional English - nice sausage and bacon.
There is public car park on the quay outside - free overnight between 1900 and 1000. You can also park in another public carpark round the corner by the church.
We stayed on a Friday night - this can be a problem. There is a Saturday market on the Quay and overnight parking outside the hotel is not allowed (but see alternative parking and that's only a few yards away). The main issue is that the traders arrive anytime from 0500, so you need to be prepared for some noise as they set up. In the event it wasn't so bad, although we were disturbed off and on from 0500. Also be aware that people sitting outside the pub at night are close to the bedrom windows - so it's not the quietest of locations

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Have just returned from this B & B a couple of nights ago for a quick night stay. Room was clean, staff were very friendly and helpful, shower worked well and the full english breakfast in the morning was great. I would recommend this and would stay again. Parked just around the corner near church as was free till 10am, lovely view across river too.

Room Tip: Check that if you say a double room you get a double bed as opposed to pushing 2 single ones togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catfshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We booked dinner after reading The Quay Inn's brochure advertising a good quality restaurant with a child friendly set up. It was nothing of the sort. We booked a table for 5.30 with 3 children, we were placed in the main section of the pub next to a massive tv showing non-child friendly shows. When we tried to order (at the bar as its basically a pub with no table service) we were told it would be over twenty minutes before our orders would be taken by the kitchen. That wouldn't have been too bad but it was over 50 mins before our food arrived. The atmosphere wasnt welcoming to our family and it was basic food advertised and priced as higher end fare - I feel the place is misrepresenting itself and I was very disappointed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fabulous food very nice staff and a view to die for highly recommended, great value! Tuesday nite steak nite buy one get one for £1, i had the crab and lobster bisque and for just £6.50 a real treat, the staff fussed over our daughter and made up feel really welcome, well done to the quay inn.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bladette1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#8 of 23 in Wareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frome Corner
Frome Corner
#12 of 23 in Wareham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Inn

Property: The Quay Inn
Address: The Quay, Wareham BH20 4LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Quay Inn Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing