We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, every single time!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cock and Bottle

The Cock and Bottle
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cock and Bottle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, every single time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have ate here many times, and it is consistently good. Food is gorgeous, freshly prepared, locally sourced, changing menu, good veggie options and decent portions. I have paid as much as this for microwaved mank in chain pubs before, and there is just no comparison!! The owners always have a bit of chat for us, and nothing is too much trouble, even if it is busy. Puddings are amazing, and change quite often. Nice for family meals, a quick lunch or a quiet and leisurely dinner. We are moving away from the area soon and I can honestly say that eating here is one of the things I am going to miss. Keep up the good work guys, you have a fab thing going!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glasgowgirl089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    59
    17
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Dropped in here on way back from Swanage. Given a warm welcome and taken through a couple of specials by the chef. The meal was excellent, one of the best meals we have had out in ages. All freshly cooked, very tasty and plentiful. Serving staff were friendly and attentive. Prices were reasonable for the quality of food produced. If we are ever that way again we will definitely drop in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DivingDemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontmell Magna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food but Decelerating Service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Is it just me or is good customer service beginning to be a rare thing? Some places do it well (hold your head up The Fontmell) and some do it not at all! The Cock and Bottle falls somewhere between the two.
The welcome was adequate if not terribly warm and to begin with the service was good, drinks and main meals served in good time but as the restaurant and bar filled up the service became almost non-existant. I had to chase for the pudding menu board, chase to order pudding and then chase up the puddings, I was exhausted! The landlady was overheard to say that the place is either empty or crowded, I wonder if she could learn a lesson from this? Perhaps it might be an idea, when there are only 2 serving staff, NOT to seat 30+ customers all within an hour....? Maybe it's sometimes empty because frustrated customers don't come back!
That gripe over I have to congratulate the kitchen staff on the food, grilled sea bass with salad and Dauphinois potatoes was delicious and the fish was cooked perfectly, my pudding of Key Lime Pie was also a delight and the coffee was reasonably repectable too.
The menu here is varied and changes regularly, a good choice of dishes including some imaginative vegetarian options and the house white wine was nice too. so no problem with the food and drink.
So in conclusion my advice is to arrive early and, unless you have 2 hours or so to waste just stick to the main course!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DorsetAgaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently high standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for! The food is excellent and prices are a bit higher than some other pubs, however the food is great and consistent. You can book with confidence knowing that you will not be disappointed. Friendly efficient staff. Would recommend to friends. Will visit again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank G4ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate here after a day walking and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We both ordered the steak and kidney pudding with new potatoes and veg. As we were the only customers, the meal arrived in a timely fashion. The serving of vegetables was a bit small for two but they provided another serving on request. The meal was exactly what we wanted, good, tasty, home cooked food but maybe slightly over-priced.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leez72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cock and Bottle also viewed

 
Winterborne Zelston, Blandford Forum
 

Been to The Cock and Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing