We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem”
Review of The Salt Pig

The Salt Pig
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Having a walk through Wareham town while on holidays mid february. I went in for coffee and cake about 3pm. A very warm welcome from the staff, good service and Gluten free brownies were fantastic.

The Salt Pig is a butchers, deli, cafe and 3 evenings a week a restaurant. In the evening the butchers/deli side of the shop suddenly has a table for 4 to expand its capacity to about 15 guests. We were told the evening menu constantly changes as he only cooks fresh available foods. Veal pie and roast lamb were beautiful.

We enjoyed this place so much that on Saturday morning before heading back to Oxfordshire we stopped for coffee again. Very busy with coffees and lunch but again a very friendly welcome. We left with a take away of pie and mash and chocolate brownies.
Don't drive past. This really is a little gem. Next time you are in this town you should not ignore this place whether for coffee and a cake, lunch or dinner you won't be disappointed. Enjoy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 53thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    90
    28
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Roast Beef Sandwich Ever”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Yesterday (Friday 15th February) I had the best roast beef sandwich that I have ever tasted. The bread was lovely - thick sliced granary - and the roast beef was perfect with fresh horseradish on the side. And all this at a reasonable price

Today went back and bought brilliant roast lamb sandwich to take away. Bread not quite as good as yesterday, but the lamb was so tender and tasty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
655 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“lots of apologies given”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We visited on a beautiful winter afternoon, stopping for a cream tea around three pm. A tiny, interesting place with local produce and meat as well as a four-table eat-in dining area. One table was occupied and the other three were not cleaned, covered in dirty dishes. Even after we ordered at the counter, and two other customers came in, our table wasn't cleared. Our scones were brought out and set alongside the dirty dishes which we had moved to the serving end of the table to make it easier and obvious they needed removal ... no such luck until our tea was finally brought out and then our table was cleared with apologies. I heard her apologise to another other patron with the explanation that it was always like this during the lunch rush. The tea was excellent, the clotted cream and strawberry jam tasty, but the scone was cold, stale and tasteless. The food at the counter however looked and smelled enticing, but we had already had our lunch earlier in the day and it wasn't yet time for dinner ... and our break for tea wasn't nearly as nice as I had hoped given the ambience and their concept. I would go back to test out their regular meal offerings and to give them a second chance in spite of a less than stellar visit this go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adventure Weekend Dinner date with friends”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booking a table with some trepidation as no guaranteed menu. It all depends on what fresh products are available on the day and a menu is created based on that. Excellent choice of wines and beers (as well as alcohol free beverages) and the menu presented was varied meat, fish and vegetarian. Our party of four chose different dishes and everybody was pleased with their choice. Puddings were generous enough to share. For an adventures weekend evening it is well worth a visit but do book table beforehand.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solveigw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing salty about this pig! Excellent food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is a gem. It's a celebration of local food. The staff are amiable and clearly passionate about the food they serve. So glad we can serve up proper grub in the Purbecks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4dwarfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salt Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Salt Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing