We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!”
Review of Gold Court House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wareham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Court House
Ranked #11 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012 for a family wedding, and found the house delightful. Rooms spotless and breakfast a proper treat. The hosts are most welcoming, and nothing is too much trouble. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Speak to Michael - he will advise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Officerincharge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Michael and Anthea are excellent hosts. The room was very comfortable, and, while the bathroom wasn't ultra-modern, it made up for it by being separate from our room in a 'suite'. Breakfasts were a real highlight - wonderful home made jams and stewed fruit with yoghurt before the cooked breakfast. Wareham is an excellent site from which to explore Dorset, and this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Only three bedrooms all tastefully furnished and impeccably clean. Feels like staying in someone's home. Fantastic breakfast, especially the fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and brown bread. No tea/coffee facilities in room but can be requested (bottled water in room though). No lock on bedroom door which took a bit of getting used to initially. One room is not ensuite but just a hop over the hall to one for private use. Hand showers over bath rather than a standing shower.
Fantastic location in a quiet square a minute for the river and shops. Stunning garden.

Room Tip: If you want full ensuite be particular at booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Really welcoming, friendly B&B. Gorgeous clean room and the best cooked breakfast we've ever had. Would definitely go again. No problem with us being same-sex couple.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Michael and Anthea are excellent hosts. In what could have been a very fraught time (a wedding in the Lady St Mary church, two steps away), with a gaggle of bridesmaids, several pages, their mothers, all manner of inlaws, dress and flower deliveries, and of course, the beautiful bride - they were the most amazing and accomodating and calmly hospitable people. It was all marvellous from the tea on arrival, to delicious breakfasts, to booking restaurants on a very busy day to coffee in the garden. What a lovely b&b.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Michael and Anthea were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. We felt priviledged to share their beautiful home and garden for a few days and wished we hadn't had to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Have just stayed for two nights at Goldcourt House and was very impressed! From the moment I arrived and was greeted with tea and biscuits, Michael and Anthea made me feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble for them. I chose Wareham as a base for my short cycling holiday and was very grateful for the advice and guidance that the Hipwells offered as to the best routes and places to visit. The breakfasts were fantastic, the house was lovely and being able to rest in the garden was great after a long ride (again with more tea and biscuits!) The house is also very well located, just a minute or two away on foot from the centre of the town. If you are thinking of staying in Wareham, then I would thoroughly recommend the Goldcourt.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thommo 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Springfield Country Hotel
4.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twiga House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#9 of 23 in Wareham
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Court House

Property: Gold Court House
Address: Gold Court St. Johns Hill, Wareham BH20 4LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gold Court House Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing