We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Ranked #7 of 23 Wareham B&B and Inns
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I and my wife enjoyed our stay here and would recommend its rooms service and breakfast to anyone staying in Wareham the rooms were well decorated out and the beds very comfortable well done to all we will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    67
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
38
91
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Have just returned from the Red Lion. Our bellies full and our faith in good customer service in tact. Having turned up at 7:30 the pub and restaurant was heaving. A good sign of any establishment. Despite not being able to fit us in immediately the waitress, Laura, assured us she'd fit us in asap - we were prepared for an hour wait but she'd found us a table in 25 mins. There was a little wait for the food but that was to be expected considering we'd stayed on the basis it was "a busy place". The food was good "pub grub" and of sizeable portions, but what made our night, and the reason we are likely to return, was the service we received from Laura; apologetic for the delay in courses and the fact they'd just run out of pork belly, polite and courteous plus very attentive. We'll certainly recommend The Red Lion. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kootzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was a little disappointed to find we were paying over the going rate because of booking ahead through booking.com.
Bathroom would not be suitable for elderly as bath had no rails so difficult to get in and out and no shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I can assure you that we do not charge extra for booking.com guests. The advertised rate you saw was on the bar tables for late availability "walk in" guests. This has been explained to you by Booking.com so I thought this had been clarified rather than posting here? We do not advertise that we have disabled or facilities for the elderly. I assume that the lack of handrails is referring to your comment about refurbishment not complete?
That said it is never nice to hear that a guest is dissatisfied and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to an incorrect perception that you "paid over the going rate".
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

we did not stay in the hotel,but we did have 2 good meals in the restaurant,friendly staff good service the meals were good sized portions i had a burger and chips the burger was very tasty and the chips were homemade chunky chips.good value for money,nice spacious restaurant with good decor would really recommend a visit one of the best places in wareham.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are proud to be "one of the best places in Wareham" and that you for affording us that honour! We are pleased you enjoyed it s0 much you returned again. Thank you for your review.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Went for an evening meal here after becoming bored at the nearby Springfield Country Club. Food was far superior and after being shown one of the rooms and advised of their rates I promptly asked for a card...next time I'm in Wareham I know exactly where I'll be staying...and it will not be in a 1970's time warp rip off! It may not have a pool, spa, or gym but it easily makes up for this in hospitality and atmosphere.
Already looking forward to my return :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocheeLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased the atmosphere and hospitality shine through. Wow that is a statement "best hotel in Wareham"? All I can say is that we try our best!
See you soon
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here immediately after a rather fancier stay at the newby Priory Hotel so wasn't expecting to be so pleasantly suprised. Really friendly helpful owner - room way exceeded my expectations - practically a flat...living room, bathroom and double bedroom. Really well decorated and pristine...couldn't have been more impressed. Didn't eat here in the evening as already had plans, but menu looked very tempting and breakfast was excellent. Would definately stay here again - and this time try and cram in a meal or two!

Room Tip: Room 2 was particularly impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetchy186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon when you are next in the area on business, maybe for a bite to eat!
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We recently booked a table for a teenager’s significant birthday celebration. We were made to feel very welcome and that nothing was too much to trouble. They didn’t mind us putting our balloons out or a few table decorations and the food was faultless!! As a local, I’ve been here before for drinks and I am so pleased that finally in town there is somewhere that has got something to offer in terms of a great atmosphere and decent decor....It is by far the nicest place in town. Well done Red Lion and thanks again for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaMS_11, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Wow what lovely comments, thank you. We try really hard to create a great atmosphere and are privileged that so many choose to celebrate special events with us. We hope to see you again.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
0.2 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
355 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
927 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
898 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.7 mi away
Kemps Country House
Kemps Country House
#1 of 2 in East Stoke
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: North Street, Wareham BH20 4AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Wareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, after years of neglect, has undergone a refurbishment totaling around half a million pounds. The Red Lion now boasts 8 individually designed bedrooms, all of which are en-suite and some are suites. We have a formal restaurant, a relaxed snug dining area and comfortable bar with a great selection of lagers, ales, wines, premium spirits and champagnes. We are situated on the town cross in the centre of Wareham, the gateway to the Jurassic coast. Wareham is beautifully placed to tour the South coast. NB Please disregard any comments pre-July 2011 as they relate to previous operators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Wareham
The Red Lion Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing